Top Picks
World of wonders : in praise of whale sharks, fireflies, and other astonishments
As a child, Nezhukumatathil called many places home: the grounds of a Kansas mental institution, where her Filipina mother was a doctor; the open skies and tall mountains of Arizona, where she hiked with her Indian father; and the chillier climes of western New York and Ohio.
They Called Us Enemy
New York Times Bestseller!A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor/author/activist George Takei's childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II.
We Too Sing America
Many of us can recall the targeting of South Asian, Arab, Muslim, and Sikh people in the wake of 9/11. We may be less aware, however, of the ongoing racism directed against these groups in the past decade and a half.
Exhalation
In these nine stunningly original, provocative, and poignant stories, Ted Chiang tackles some of humanity's oldest questions along with new quandaries only he could imagine.
Didn't see what you want?
If you're looking for a resource not available at Odum Library, you can use GIL Express to borrow books from any of the University System of Georgia (USG) Libraries or Inter-Library Loans to borrow from libraries outside our system!
If you love a piece of media and think we need it in the collection you can let us know by filling out our request form!
Library Resources
Racial Ambiguity in Asian American Culture by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0813570719Publication Date: 2015-05-12
World of wonders : in praise of whale sharks, fireflies, and other astonishments by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 157131959X
Asian Americans in Dixie by Call Number: F216.2 .A85 2013 and OnlineISBN: 9780252037832Publication Date: 2013-10-14
Dear Girls by Call Number: POPULAR PN2287.W555 A3 2019ISBN: 9780525508830Publication Date: 2019-10-15
They Called Us Enemy by Call Number: POPULAR D769.8.A6 T355 2019ISBN: 9781603094504Publication Date: 2019-07-16
Crying in H Mart by Call Number: POPULAR ML420.Z3913 A3 2021ISBN: 9780525657743Publication Date: 2021-04-20
Minor Feelings by Call Number: Available soon! Order a GIL copy while we wait for our copy to come in.ISBN: 9781984820365Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Interior Chinatown by Call Number: PS3625.U15 I58 2020ISBN: 9780307907196Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Monstress by Call Number: POPULAR PN6728.M6576 L58 2016ISBN: 9781632157096Publication Date: 2016-07-19
Exhalation by Call Number: POPULAR PS3603.H53 A6 2019ISBN: 9781101947883Publication Date: 2019-05-07
/pic5376430.png)
AAPI Heritage Month
Additional Resources
- Self Evident: Asian America's Stories
Join us in building the most impactful home for true stories that honor the everyday lives of Asian American people — and pass the mic for everyone to represent their whole self. - Asian Enough
From the Los Angeles Times, “Asian Enough” is a podcast about being Asian American — the joys, the complications and everything in between. In each episode hosts Jen Yamato, Johana Bhuiyan, Tracy Brown and Suhauna Hussain of The Times invite special guests to share personal stories and unpack identity on their own terms. - Southern Fried Asian
Southern Fried Asian is a new podcast from The Nerds of Color hosted by Keith Chow. Typically, stories about Asian Americans are centered on the experiences of those who grew up on the coasts -- New York, Southern California, the Bay Area -- where communities of different Asian American subgroups have lived for many years. On this podcast, though, we're gonna look at a region of the country that isn't typically associated with these stories and unpack what it means to be Asian American in the American South. - They Call Us Bruce
Hosts Jeff Yang and Phil Yu present an unfiltered conversation about what's happening in Asian America. - Saturday School
Wake up! Saturday School is a podcast where Brian Hu and Ada Tseng teach your unwilling children about Asian American pop culture history. - Asian Americana
A podcast about slices of distinctly Asian American culture and history. - Modern Minorities
MODERN MINORITIES is a collection of conversations about work and life through the lens of race and gender. It is a show where we talk about “the thing” that everyone is thinking about, but nobody is actually talking about. - Dear Asian Americans
Dear Asian Americans is a podcast for and by Asian Americans, focusing on authentic storytelling rooted in origin, identity, and legacy. Host Jerry Won brings on guests from diverse backgrounds and career paths to celebrate, support, and inspire the Asian American community. - Feeling Asian
Welcome to Feeling Asian! A podcast where two Asians talk about their feelings. After a lifetime of holding in their emotions (shoutout to Korean moms!), comedians Youngmi Mayer and Brian Park are ready to let them all out. - FOGO: Fear of Going Outside
FOGO: Fear of Going Outside is a nature show — by the most reluctant host ever. Most nature shows are hosted by reckless white men, but avid indoorswoman Ivy Le is an Asian mom with severe allergies. She's determined to go camping —or die trying.
- artasiamerica
artasiamerica is a professional digital archive of Asian/Asian American contemporary visual artists. It is a historical image & document archive specialized in Asian American visual culture from 1945 to the present. - Asian Pacific American Heritage Month
May is Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Asian and Pacific Islanders who have enriched America's history and are instrumental in its future success. - Pacific Islander Poetry and Culture
Contemporary poets, poems, and articles exploring the history and aesthetics of the Pacific. - South Asian American Digital Archive
SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences. - Southeast Asian Digital Archive
The Southeast Asian Digital Archive seeks to collect, preserve, and share historical materials related to Southeast Asians in the Greater Lowell area, with particular focus on refugee resettlement and community building from the 1970s to the present. Our goal is to highlight Southeast Asian voices and viewpoints, and to educate the public about the resilience and diversity of Southeast Asian Americans.
Contact us
If any material listed is problematic or you would like to suggest future recommendations and themes please contact Crystal Miller at crrichardson@valdosta.edu! They would love feedback, or just to talk about books!
