Top Picks
Add to Odum
Looking for a copy right now? Try ILL or GIL.
If you're looking for a resource not available at Odum Library, you can use GIL Express to borrow books from any of the University System of Georgia (USG) Libraries or Inter-Library Loans to borrow from libraries outside our system! Suggestions for books on this month's themes to request are located in the GIL Express tab of the library resources display.
Additional Poetry Resources
- Commonplace: Conversations with PoetsA series of intimate and captivating interviews by Rachel Zucker with poets and artists about quotidian objects, experiences or obsessions, Commonplace conversations explore the recipes, advice, lists, anecdotes, quotes, politics, phobias, spiritual practices, and other non-Literary forms of knowledge that are vital to an artist’s life and work.
- Have You Heard George's Podcast?The award-winning and critically-acclaimed podcast from George the Poet delivers a fresh take on inner city life through a mix of storytelling, music and fiction.
- Interesting People Reading PoetryInteresting People Reading Poetry is a short, sound-rich podcast created by Andy & Brendan Stermer. We ask artists and luminaries to read us a favorite poem and share what it means to them.
- Poem-a-DayPoem-a-Day is the original and only daily digital poetry series featuring over 250 new, previously unpublished poems by today’s talented poets each year.
- VSThe VS podcast is a bi-weekly series where poets confront the ideas that move them. Hosted by poets Danez Smith and Franny Choi, produced by Daniel Kisslinger, and presented by the Poetry Foundation and Postloudness.
- The Poetry Center and American Poetry Archives: San Francisco State University
The Poetry Center organizes and presents some 30 public readings, performances and poetry-related talks each year, on the SF State campus and at other Bay Area venues, featuring outstanding poets and writers from across the literary spectrum. The Poetry Center Reading Series, founded in 1954, is one of the longest-running such programs in the country, with roots in the 1950s San Francisco Poetry Renaissance. The Poetry Center houses the American Poetry Archives, an historic collection of over 5,000 hours of original audio and video recordings documenting the Reading Series up to the present. - Poetry FoundationThe Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
- Poetry International
At Poetry International Rotterdam we are crazy about poetry, whether from the Netherlands or the world at large. This is why everything we do is geared towards sharing poetry with audiences that are as expansive and diverse as possible, and why we are dedicated to strengthening the exchange between people who write poetry, people who translate poetry, and people who enjoy poetry, both on stage and online. - Poets.org
Poets.org is produced by the Academy of American Poets. The site was launched in 1996, becoming the original online resource for poems, poets' biographies, essays about poetry, and resources for K-12 teachers. - Poets Reading the News
Our mission is to enact poetry’s vital cultural function as a processor for violence, cultural complexity, and political change in a society overwhelmed by the headlines. We’re out to prove what we know is true: in times of darkness, poetry is essential reading.
- Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature
The Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature at the Library of Congress dates back to 1943, and contains nearly 2,000 recordings of poets and writers participating in literary events at the Library’s Capitol Hill campus as well as sessions at the Library’s Recording Laboratory. - Asian American Voices in Poetry
Asian Americans have been contributing to US literature for over a century, but their role did not gain recognition in mainstream culture or academia until the 1970s. Since then, over 50 Asian American studies programs, centers, and institutes have been established on university campuses, and organizations such as Kundiman and the Asian American Writers’ Workshop, presses, and journals have helped to further cultivate Asian American poetry. - Living Nations, Living Words
Poet Laureate Joy Harjo's signature project which features contemporary Native poets from across the United States. - Poets.org: National Poetry Month 2021
Launched by the Academy of American Poets in April 1996, National Poetry Month reminds the public that poets have an integral role to play in our culture and that poetry matters. Over the years, it has become the largest literary celebration in the world, with tens of millions of readers, students, K–12 teachers, librarians, booksellers, literary events curators, publishers, families, and, of course, poets, marking poetry's important place in our lives. In 2021, the Academy of American Poets looks forward to celebrating the twenty-fifth anniversary of this annual celebration!
Citizen Science and Poetry Month
Library Resources
The Face of the Earth by Call Number: CB460 .C36 2011ISBN: 9780520269279Publication Date: 2011-08-22
Citizen Science Guide for Families by Call Number: Q180.55.C54 L36 2013ISBN: 9781937589356Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Bat Count: a Citizen Science Story by Call Number: LZ QL737.C5 F67 2016 and as an E-bookISBN: 9781628558944Publication Date: 2017-02-10
Mammoth by ISBN: 0702262749
Milk and Honey by Call Number: Also available as a physical book at PR9199.4.K377 A6 2015ISBN: 1449478654Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Killing Poetry by Call Number: E-book or also available in physical copy at PS310.N4 J64 2017ISBN: 9780813580029Publication Date: 2017-06-30
In the Belly of a Laughing God by Call Number: PS3601.N55266 I5 2011 and in E-bookISBN: 9780802035677Publication Date: 2011-05-30
Instructions for Seeing a Ghost by Call Number: PS3602.E6478 I57 2020ISBN: 9781574417876Publication Date: 2020-02-12
The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou by Call Number: PS3551.N464 A17 1994ISBN: 9780679428954Publication Date: 1994-09-13
The Hill We Climb by Call Number: POPULAR PS3607.O59774 H55 2021ISBN: 9780593465271Publication Date: 2021-03-30
The Collected Poetry of Nikki Giovanni by Call Number: PS3557.I55 A6 2007ISBN: 9780060724290Publication Date: 2007-01-23
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Poets and Poetry by ISBN: 031332381XPublication Date: 2005-12-30
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by Call Number: REF PN1021 .N39 1993ISBN: 0691032718Publication Date: 1993-05-09
Word Rhythm Dictionary by Call Number: PE1583 .P65 2014ISBN: 9780810884168Publication Date: 2014-04-18
The Sewanee ReviewCall Number: Online
Special Thanks:
A big thank you to Amanda Broyles for the help with this month's picks!
Campus Orgs and Events:
"Deep Release is an organization where individuals can express themselves in an open environment in the form of spoken word, poetry, song, freestyle or improvisation. We encourage creative, diverse and innovative works from students. Deep Release is an open setting where students can come and share their artistic ability."
"Odradek is Valdosta State University's student literary magazine. Odradek is staffed, written, edited, and published yearly by VSU students from all majors and disciplines. Students submit short stories, poetry, creative non-fiction, translations, photographs and visual art for publication in the journal. We are one of the longest running campus organizations with over twenty years of publishing history. Each year we form a dedicated team of editors to work with students on providing the best works of literature and art possible to be published in the Odradek during the spring."
The Science Saturdays program is supported by the College of Science and Mathematics. They provide a space and the materials for local children to perform science experiments to learn hands-on. While they are not currently holding in-person events due to the pandemic, they have made at-home experiment videos available to those interested in continuing to educate through experimentation.
Contact us
If any material listed is problematic or you would like to suggest future recommendations and themes please contact Crystal Miller at crrichardson@valdosta.edu! They would love feedback, or just to talk about books!
