Background Information
When looking for books and other sources on your topic, it is important you have a good understanding of what your topic is about. There are several ways you can get this type of information:
- websites. Wikipedia is a great place to gather preliminary info (and find great sources for your research).
- online encyclopedias.
- physical encyclopedias.
- other reference books.
Note: While these are great ways to get information on your topic, they are considered grey literature. Wikipedia and encyclopedia entries are usually not considered appropriate to cite in scholarly research papers.
Websites
- Wikipedia entries for your topic can be an abundant source of information.
- Pompeii: Portents of DisasterThis BBC site has several good articles of its own and links to the official site at Pompeii, to a virtual tour, articles on death in Rome,and work and play in everyday Pompeii.
- Arena: Gladiatorial GamesThe narrative in this site is filled with links to wonderful illustrations from mosaics and sculpture reliefs showing gladiators in combat depicted by artists of the period. Illustrations also show artifacts of combat gear. Several good books listed about gladiators, though regrettably, not all of the links to internet sites work.
- Ancient RomansA BCC site containing link to several subtopics such as Roman Britain, Roman and its Empire, Gladiators, Pompeii, Belief, and Life in Ancient Rome.
- Roman BritainA nice academic site which seems to have been set up to accompany a history class at The University of British Columbia.
- Who Was Cleopatra?Published in Smithsonian Magazine in 2007, and The Real Cleopatra, in which he presents a discussion about Cleopatra from Joyce Tyldesley, a lecturer in Egyptology from The University of Manchester who published a new book this year titled, Cleopatra: Last Queen of Egypt, which shatters a number of previously-held myths about her.
Recommended Reference Books
The Ancient World: Prehistory - 476 C.E. by
The essays in this set provide coverage of events involving prehistoric cultures and social and cultural developments in all areas of the world from prehistory to 476
Call Number: eBook & REF D65 .G74 2004ISBN: 9781587651557Publication Date: 2004-04-30
The Cambridge Ancient History by
v. 1. Egypt and Babylonia to 1580 B.C.
v. 2 The Egyptian and Hittite empires to c. 1000 B.C.
v. 3. The Assyrian empire.
v. 4. The Persian empire and the West.
v. 5. Athens, 478-401 B.C.
v. 6 Macedon, 401-301 B.C.
v. 7. The Hellenistic monarchies and the rise of Rome.
v. 8. Rome and the Mediterranean, 218-133 B.C.
v. 9. The Roman republic, 133-44 B.C.
v. 10. The Augustan empire, 44 B.C.-A.D. 70.
v. 11. The imperial peace, A.D. 70-192.
v. 12. The imperial crisis and recovery, A.D. 193-324.
Call Number: REF D57 .C25 1924 & D57 .C25 1924Publication Date: 1924 - 1939
Chronology of World Slavery by
Chronology of World Slavery combines multiple chronologies, sidebars on specialized topics, primary source documents, and gripping illustrations into a compelling portrayal of slavery from the dawn of civilization to the present. Organized by geographic region and time period, this work enables readers to gain a quick understanding of how long slavery has been part of human life and where it has occurred. Chronology of World Slavery is the ideal companion to The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery (ABC-CLIO, 1997). Together, these works span all world cultures and time periods to examine humankind's most perplexing--and persistent--historical issue.
Call Number: REF HT861 .R63 1999ISBN: 9780874368840Publication Date: 1999-06-15
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East by
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East brings together for the first time in one accessible resource scholarship that was previously scattered in hundreds of monographs and journal articles. One hundred and eighty-nine scholars from all over the world contributed their expertise to make this set the most appealing, original, and comprehensive reference on this fascinating area of study. All students, teachers, and scholars who seek to satisfy their curiosity about the ancient Near East's peoples and cultures will find within these volumes articles that intrigue and inform them.History begins in the ancient Near East. While earlier peoples left signs at Stonehenge, on the walls of caves in France it is in the Near East that we first find messages, evidence of the transmission of knowledge from one generation to another, and the organization of nomadic tribes into societies with distinctive class structures, religions, and governments. Ancient Near Eastern civilizations took a great many forms, from the city-states of Mesopotamia to the centralized monarchy of Egypt, and they generated vital traditions in art, architecture, and literature. Through constant interchange with other parts of the world, these cultures influenced the emergence of three of the world's great religions Judaism, Christianity, and Islam and the shape of human history into the Middle Ages and beyond. The vast expanses of desert in the region have preserved many ancient remains that scholars have recovered and analyzed. Spanning more than 4,000 years, from the Early Bronze Age to 325 BCE, this set explores all aspects of the emergence and development of the diverse cultures of the ancient NearEast.Civilizations of the Ancient Near East presents this enormously rich world from a variety of perspectives. It describes the physical world of the ancient Near East, evaluates the impact of ancient Near Eastern civilizations on succeeding cultures, and reconstructs its cultural contexts based on archaeological findings and the deciphering of documents. This two-volume edition contains the complete text of the original four-volume set, including 189 articles organized in eleven parts, enhanced by 46 maps and 612 photographs and line drawings.
Call Number: REF DS57 .C547 2000ISBN: 1565636074Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Complete Royal Families of Ancient Egypt by
This groundbreaking book illuminates the lives of some 1,300 kings, queens, princes, and princesses of ancient Egypt, unraveling family relationships and exploring the parts they played in politics, cultural life, and religion. The authors begin with a basic summary of the structure of the pharaonic state, including the nature of ancient Egyptian kingship itself, and then introduce key members of the royal family. This is followed by a chronological survey of the royal family from c. 3100 BC to the last Cleopatra. For each dynasty, or significant part of a dynasty, the authors provide an historical overview of the period, a summary listing of the kings, and a discussion of their families' relationships. This superb biographical history of ancient Egypt is handsomely illustrated with hundreds of photographs, line drawings, and genealogical trees.
Call Number: REF DT83 .D63 2004ISBN: 9780500051283Publication Date: 2004-10-06
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by
Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasurehouse of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day. Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries explores the archaeologists, sites, debates, techniques, methods, and issues that are central to the global practice of archaeology. Three richly illustrated volumes trace the development of the field from the ancient Greeks to the present day. Through detailed tours of major excavation sites from all over the world--Chichen Itza, Machu Picchu, Ephesus, Pompeii, the tomb of Tutankhamun--as well as more obscure sites like Brzesc Kujawski in Poland, readers gain an appreciation for the inherent challenges all archeologists share in locating, recovering and making sense of evidence of past human lives. The Histories and Discoveries volumes profile significant archaeologists, such as the indefatigable Gertrude Bell, an expert on Arab affairs during World War I and Iraq's director of antiquities in the 1920s. Additional entries ranging from the Dead Sea scrolls and rock art to techniques like dating and remote sensing round out this watershed in the history of archaeology. Includes 500+ A-Z entries on pioneers such as J. Desmond Clark, sites including Chichén Itzá in Mexico, remote sensing and other concepts and techniques, periods, regions, organizations, and museums Contributors include some of the world's most eminent archaeologists Includes maps depicting key points of reference like ethnic groups in the West Indies at the time of Columbus Contains photographs of excavation sites such as an ancient burial ground in Chile, shields, petroglyphs, and other artifacts
Call Number: REF CC100 .E54 2001ISBN: 9781576071984Publication Date: 2001-06-28
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt by
The Encyclopedia opens with a general map of the region and a chronology of periods and dynasties, providing a context for the entries. The first section of the volume then comprises 14 overviews which explore the history and significance of each period. The main body of the text offers more than 300 alphabetically organized entries, written by some of the most eminent scholars in this field. Areas covered include: artefacts - glass, jewellery, sculpture archaeological practices - dating techniques, representational evidence, textual sources biographies - Howard Carter, Gertrude Caton Thompson, Gaston Maspero buildings - cult temples, private tombs, pyramid complexes geographical features - agriculture, climate, irrigation sites - Abydos, Dakhla Oasis, Thebes social organization - kingship, law, taxation The text is extensively illustrated with over 120 images. Each entry is followed by a selected further reading section which includes foreign language sources to supplement the available works in English.
Call Number: DT58 .E53 1999ISBN: 9780415185899Publication Date: 1999-05-14- History of the Ancient and Medieval World by
Beginning with prehistory and continuing to the brink of the European Renaissance, this reference set offers readers comprehensive coverage of a diversity of ancient and medieval civilizations and cultures. In addition to the Greeks and Romans, it introduces readers to the Egyptians, Mesopotamians, Phoenicians, Jews, Hittites, among many others.
Call Number: REF D117 .H57 1996ISBN: 9780761403517Publication Date: 1996-03-01
The Hutchinson Dictionary of Ancient and Medieval Warfare by
The Dictionary of Ancient and Medieval Warfare provides a comprehensive guide to the battles and wars, commanders, tactics, formations, fortifications, and weapons of war in Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, India, China, and Japan from the beginning of recorded history to the 16th century. More than 3,000 entries, written by expert military historians, cover all aspects of warfare from the emergence of the earliest walled cities in the Ancient Near East up to and including the period of European discovery of the New World. The Dictionary is unique, the only work to cover 3,500 years of military history. Expert authors writing in their specialty have created the most comprehensive and accessible reference work ever produced on this subject.
Call Number: REF D25.A2 H88 1998ISBN: 9781579581169Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery by
Provides an historical and cultural overview of slavery around the world. This work includes the stories and cultures of the individuals involved, its complex history and its colossal impact. It covers history and legislation to art, music and literature, and religious perspectives.
Call Number: REF HT861 .M24 1998ISBN: 9780028646077Publication Date: 1998-09-01
Magill's Guide to Military History by
This reference presents a survey of the wars, battles, people and civilizations that have played important roles in worldwide military history. With photographs, charts and maps, the set provides perspective to wars and conflicts from ancient times to the 21st century for high school, undergraduate and general readers. Each features essay contains a short list of resources and up-to-date books, articles and films for further study.
Call Number: REF D25.A2 M34 2001ISBN: 0893560146Publication Date: 2001-06-30
The New Arthurian Encyclopedia by
Like its predecessor, it deals with Arthuriana of all periods, from the earliest legends and texts to the present. Similarly, alongside literature, we have included history and chronicle, archaeology, art, film, and other media ... We have expanded the Encyclopedia from 700 entries to more than 1,200, with contributions from some 130 scholars rather than 94
Call Number: DA152.5.A7 N48 1991ISBN: 9780815323037Publication Date: 1995-12-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by
Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000 year civilization.The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics,everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial--such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature,religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy.Extensively illustrated with photographs, line drawings, and maps, the Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt is designed for the widest possible access, serving students, teachers, and scholars in fields ranging from Near East archaeology and classics to ancient art, architecture, history, language andreligion, as well as general readers fascinated by a world that remains--even today--incompletely mapped.
Call Number: eBook & REF DT58 .O94 2001ISBN: 0195102347Publication Date: 2001-01-11
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East by
This comprehensive five-volume work analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data that pertain to the broad cultural milieu of the ancient Near East, the crossroads of three of the world's most influential religions--Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Ranging from prehistoric times up to theearly centuries of the rise of Islam, the work covers the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa. It includes 1,125 alphabetically arranged entries on sites, languages, material culture, archaeologicalmethods, organizations and institutions, and major excavators and scholars of the field. This one-of-a-kind, accessibly written reference brings new breadth to the study of archaeology in the biblical world, making it a valuable resource not only to scholars and students of archaeology, but also tothose with an interest in ancient art and architecture, languages, history, and religion.
Call Number: eBook & REF DS56 .O9 1997ISBN: 9780195065121Publication Date: 1996-11-28
The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend by
The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend is both a critical history of the Arthurian tradition and a reference guide to Arthurian works, names, and symbols. It offers a comprehensive survey of the legends in all of their manifestations, from their origins in medieval literature totheir adaptation in modern literature, arts, film, and popular culture. Not only does it analyse familiar Arthurian characters and themes, it also demonstrates the tremendous continuity of the legends by examining the ways that they have been reinterpreted over the years. For instance, the motif ofthe abduction of Guinevere can be traced from Chretien de Troyes's Lancelot or the Knight of the Cart and the vulgate cycle of French romances in the 13th century, to Malory's retelling of the story in the Morte d'Arthur, through various modern adaptations like those in T. H. White's The Once andFuture King and the contemporary film First Knight.This indispensable reference guide contains seven essays that trace the development of the Arthurian legend, encyclopedic entries, bibliographies, and a comprehensive index. The essays explore the chronicle and romance traditions, the influence of Malory, the Grail legend, the figures of Gawain andMerlin, and the story of Tristan and Isolt. The entries, which highlight key Arthurian characters, symbols, and places, offer quick and easy references. The extensive chapter-by-chapter bibliographies, which are subdivided by topic, augment the general bibliography of Arthurian resources.Comprehensive in its analysis and hypertextual in its approach, The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend is an essential reference book for Arthurian scholars, medievalists, and for those interested in cultural studies of myth and legend.
Call Number: REF DA152.5.A7 L87 2005ISBN: 9780192802873Publication Date: 2005-08-11
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution by
The French Revolution remains the most examined event, or period, in world history. Most historians would argue that it was the first "modern" revolution, an event so momentous that it changed the very meaning of the word revolution to its modern sense of connoting a political and or social upheaval that marks a decisive break with the past, one that moves a society in a forward or progressive direction. No revolution has occurred since 1789 without making reference to this first revolution, and most have been measured against it. When revolution shook the foundations of the Old Regime in France, shock waves reverberated throughout the western world. Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution examines the causes and origins, the roles of significant--and often colorful--persons, crucial events and turning points, significant institutions and organizations, and the economic, social, and intellectual factors involved in the revolution. An introductory essay, chronology, and comprehensive bibliography complement the more than 400 dictionary entries, making this a great resource for students and history enthusiasts alike.
Call Number: REF DC147 .H36 2004ISBN: 9780810850521Publication Date: 2004-07-27
