At the Library
The library is for more than just research!
Come visit us for our board game collection, popular books, art, DVDs, and more! Online we offer video streaming databases, eBooks, and fun guides with tons of resources!
Suggested Research Guides
DIY at Odum
See our curated resources on hobbies and crafting
Looking for Something to Read?
Our leisure books organized by genre
Board Games at Odum
Odum Libary's collection of board games are all available for checkout
Stress Relief
Learn about ways to de-stress at the library and across campus
Streaming
- AVON (Academic Video Online)Contains documentaries, news, films, and plays
Art in Odum
- Self-Guided Art TourTour the Odum Library and learn about the different galleries and exhibits.
Finding E-Books
If you want to find an e-book at Valdosta State University's Odum Library, there are several places you can search.
Library Catalog
Directions
1. Visit Odum Library's catalog, GIL-Find. From here, you can do a basic search. Alternatively, you can click on Advanced Search for more search options and fields.
2. Search the catalog using keywords. You can search by title, subject, author, etc. Select the format: Books.
3. In the search results, click on Full Access Online. This option can be found above the search results or in the column to the left of the search results.
Discover
Directions
1. Search in Discover GALILEO by author, title, subject, etc.
2. Limit by Type to view only eBooks.
a) For Bento Search, select the "eBooks" pill button under the search bar
b) For Classic Search, select "eBooks" under the "Source Type" section
E-book Database
Directions
1. On the Discover GALILEO home page, click "All Databases"
2. Click on Books, E-Books, and Book Reviews
3. Select an eBook database that interests you and search within it for eBooks.
Collections Browser
Virtually browse our Popular Collection, feature films on DVD, graphic novels, and children's books that we have available for checkout!
1. Head to GIL-Find@VSU (the library catalog) and select the show more button at the top of the screen.
2. Select "Collections Browser".
3. Select the collection that you would like to view.
