Skip to Main Content

Welcome Fall 2024 Faculty: Collection Development and Library Liaisons

Collection Development

Collection Development Order Process

 

Each academic department has a library liaison who manages and communicates requests for resources. 

 

  • Each department has an allocation to spend on one-time purchases, such as books, DVDs, maps, etc. 
    • Journals and databases are a separate budgetary allocation. 
  • Please send your requests to your departmental coordinator. 
  • It is helpful if requests indicate order priority.  If an item is needed by the Library, it is "High" priority.  Items recommend as good for the Library are either "Medium" or "Low," per the selector's judgement.
  • You may send order requests at any time of year. Orders may be delayed if they are received after the January deadline.

 

How You Can Help Us

 

We want to make sure that Odum Library's collection supports our faculty, staff, and students! Your feedback and participation are greatly appreciated! 

 

  • Contact your department's coordinator to place orders for materials. 
  • Schedule a meeting to review serial titles and usage statistics, or discuss collection development.

 

 

Information about Ordering Process

Allocation of Funds 

 

Important Collection Development Dates

 

Fiscal year is July 1 to June 30

 

July 1 Fiscal year begins. Ordering begins later in July.
November 15 Good goal date to have about 50% of your department's book allocation encumbered/expended
January 31 All materials requests are due. If requests are submitted after this date, they might not get purchased until the next fiscal year
May 1 Submit periodical additions/cancelations 

 

Library Liaisons

What You Can Expect From Your Library Liaison

 

 

  • Communication about library-related information.

 

  • Communication about availability of funds or status of orders (This communication might be directed to your department coordinator/department head).

Want to schedule a meeting about Collection Development? 

 

Please contact:

 

Ken Smith

Head of Collection & Resource Services,

229-245-3734

kensmith@valdosta.edu