Resources
VSU: Please log in for full access.
- 'Outsiders in a Niche Group': Using Intersectionality to Examine Resilience for Queer Students of ColorDuran, A. (2021). “Outsiders in a niche group”: Using intersectionality to examine resilience for queer students of color. Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, 14(2), 217–227. https://doi.org/10.1037/dhe0000144
- 'They’re Always Gonna Notice My Natural Hair': Identity, Intersectionality and Resistance Among Black GirlsOnnie Rogers, L., Versey, H. S., & Cielto, J. (2021). 'They’re always gonna notice my natural hair’: Identity, intersectionality and resistance among Black girls. Qualitative Psychology. https://doi.org/10.1037/qup0000208
- Changing Campus Culture through Intersectional Language Reform: An Action Research ProjectLo, R. S., & MacDonald, S. M. (2021). Changing Campus Culture through Intersectional Language Reform: An Action Research Project. Women & Language, 44(2), 243–273. https://doi.org/10.34036/WL.2021.015
- Sexism and Health: Advancing Knowledge Through Structural and Intersectional ApproachesHoman, P. (2021). Sexism and Health: Advancing Knowledge Through Structural and Intersectional Approaches. American Journal of Public Health, 111(10), 1725–1727. https://doi.org/10.2105/ajph.2021.306480
Suggested Databases
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryThe Civil Rights Digital Library covers the history of this movement from 1954-1970 through the use of the three following features: a digital archive of 30 hours of historical news film drawn from two television stations and television archives held by the University of GA, a virtual library of material on the movement drawn from the collections of 75 libraries and organizations around the U.S., and instructional materials to aid teachers in using this material.
- LGBTQ+ RightsContains an interactive timeline, subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, and reports
- Race Relations AbstractsArticles that focus on the relationship between races (ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, etc.)
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library - SocINDEX with Full TextScholarly full-text articles in multiple subdisciplines of sociology.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library - Sociological CollectionArticles within all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
- Sociology DatabaseArticles in the sociology and social services fields.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
- Center for Intersectionality and Social Policy StudiesThe Center for Intersectionality and Social Policy Studies functions as a research entity and a site for intellectual dialogue and collaboration for academics who are committed to analyzing the dynamics of complex inequity and stratification, as well as to policy and legal advocacy.
Videos
Intersectionality Diagram
File:Intersectionality diagram (from a slide deck presented by Russell Robinson) at All Hands, January 2018.jpg, DTankersley (WMF), CC BY-SA 4.0
What is intersectionality? Infographic of intersecting circles. Circles are labeled Gender, Race, Age, Religion, and Class. Outside of the circles, but overlapping them slightly, are the words Sexuality, Ethnicity, History, Heritage, Language, and Education.
Looking for even more resources? Check out our Additional Anti-Oppression Resources page.
