"This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law." (Title 44 United States Code)
Public Access and Use
The VSU library is both a federal (United States) and a Georgia state depository library. The government document collections are open to members of the general public, and we encourage you to consider them your resource. If you would like more information about the collections, or need assistance with government information, feel free to contact us.
U.S. government publications in print and other tangible formats are located on the second floor, east side of the Odum Library atrium, across from the Reference desk.
Print and other tangible formats of government publications can be located using the GIL-Find Catalog. In Advanced Search, search United States as author for U.S. publications or Georgia as publisher for Georgia publications.
United States Government Sites
- GovinfoSearch tool for and collection of U.S. documents, including Congressional bills, Presidential documents, the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, and U.S. Court Opinions.
- USA.govSearch tool for U.S. government websites.
- Catalog of Government Publications"The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on Advanced Search for more options."
- Data.census.govComprehensive site for searching for and accessing U.S. Census data on population, the economy, and more.
State of Georgia Sites and Documents
Odum Library at Valdosta State University is an official selective depository of Georgia state publications. State of Georgia documents are located on the second floor southeast side of the library atrium, across from the Reference desk.
- Georgia.govSearch tool for state of Georgia online resources and information about services.
- Georgia Government Publications Database"The Georgia Government Publications database contains born-digital publications and scanned print documents produced by Georgia state agencies. The GGP provides a comprehensive repository of state publications 1994 to the present, and project participants are actively scanning documents printed before 1994 to provide researchers with a valuable source for online historical research."
- Georgia DataFrom the University of Georgia Carl Vinson Institute of Government, a search tool for and collection of data about the state of Georgia, its populations, economy, and more.
