Hello, Nursing Students in the College of Nursing & Health Sciences!
The librarians at Odum Library have designed this guide to highlight important library resources for nursing students.
Odum Library provides access to journal articles, e-books, and other resources. On or off-campus, you'll need to log in to access library resources. We try to make the login process easy so there are many different options depending on where and how you like to access the library.
Save time and your research! Make sure you can access your article or search results again by following one of the suggestions below:
Most database offer the ability to send articles to your e-mail. This can be a quick and convenient way to make sure that your research and articles arrive in your inbox.
If you're working on a personal computer, you can download the PDFs. If you're not on a personal computer or you would like to back up your research, we recommend downloading the PDFs and then uploading to your favorite cloud-based storage service (OneDrive, Google Drive, etc.).
Unlike other places on the internet, bookmarking your results page in your browser or copying the address in the search bar will not work for databases and other library resources.
Instead, most databases will generate a permalink in a specially labeled box. This is the link that you'll want to save in a Word document or e-mail.
To learn more about permalinks, visit this page: https://libguides.valdosta.edu/permalinks
Databases like EBSCO will allow you to create an account. Once you log in, you can save your articles to your folder. When you're ready to revisit your research, just log into your database account again to find your saved articles.
When you're looking for a nursing articles, you'll probably want to search in a nursing database. These discipline-specific databases will give you more options as you conduct your searches.
Once you have found an article, you will probably want to read it. To access the article, you will look for symbols like these:
Click on the respective symbol to access the article.
As a rule of thumb, avoid HTML Full Text when possible as it will resemble a web page and will not contain page numbers, making citing more difficult.
PDF Full Text links you to a PDF copy of the article that you can then e-mail to yourself or download.
If you see the Find It @ VSU button, this indicates that there is an extra step to access the article. The article may be found in another database or resource or it might available through an Interlibrary Loan (ILL).