Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hello, Nursing Students in the College of Nursing & Health Sciences!
The librarians at Odum Library have designed this guide to highlight important library resources for nursing students.
- How to get the most out of Odum Library resources
- Databases perfect for nursing research
- Services available at Odum Library to make your research easier
- For immediate help, use Live Chat to contact the reference librarian on duty.
- Schedule an online Research Appointment for in-depth research assistance. Research appointments are typically between 30 and 60 minutes. Appointments can be individual or small groups and can take place online using Live Chat or Blackboard Collaborate
Click Anywhere Access to access our library resources from off-campus!
Odum Library provides access to journal articles, e-books, and other resources. As a general rule of thumb, if you're off-campus, you'll want to log in. We try to make the login process easy so there are many different options depending on where and how you like to access the library.
Logging In Options
- Go to Valdosta State's home page, http://www.valdosta.edu/
- Click on MyVSU, located in upper left
- Log in
- On the MyVSU page, beside Portals, click View All
- Scroll down and select GALILEO Anywhere Access from the list
- When you're on a library web page, look for Anywhere Access buttons
- On this page and other research guides, the Anywhere Access buttons are red
- On the library home page, the Anywhere Access button is gray
- Click on the button and log in with your VSU username and password
- Live Chat is a quick and easy way to get immediate assistance.
- Online Research Appointments are a good option if you want personalized research help with a librarian.
- Online research appointments can be done through Blackboard Collaborate Ultra or Live Chat.
- With Collaborate Ultra, we can talk and share screens, similar to an in-person research appointment.
- E-mail is a good option when the reference desk and chat are closed. A librarian will reply to your e-mail during the next business day (the next time the desk is open).
Interlibrary Loan (ILL-Odum Express)
- VSU students, faculty, and staff can request materials that the library does not own through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The library will borrow the requested materials from another library.
- Articles are generally delivered as PDFs that can be accessed online. Remember to download and save the PDF.
- Book chapters can be requested and recieved as a PDF scan.
- Books are usually able to be borrowed, but are currently suspended due to the pandemic.
- Learn how to login and request articles through ILL.
When you're looking for a nursing articles, you'll probably want to search in a nursing database. These discipline-specific databases will give you more options as you conduct your searches.
CINAHL with Full Text
- CINAHL is a favorite of nursing professors and for a good reason.
- CINAHL provides full-text access to over 750 nursing journals.
- CINAHL also indexes another 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
- This makes it easy to find and request articles through Interlibrary Loan!
Benefits of CINAHL
- Can search for articles using keywords or CINAHL headings
- Includes discipline-specific limiters to add to your search like:
- Evidence-Based Practice
- First Author is a Nurse/Any Author is a Nurse
- Special Interest/Publication Type
CINAHL Plus with Full text
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Scholarly nursing database with peer-reviewed full-text articles.
Once you have found an article, you will probably want to read it. To access the article, you will look for symbols like these:
Click on the respective symbol to access the article.
HTML Full Text
As a rule of thumb, avoid HTML Full Text when possible as it will resemble a web page and will not contain page numbers, making citing more difficult.
PDF Full Text
PDF Full Text links you to a PDF copy of the article that you can then e-mail to yourself or download.
Find It @ VSU
If you see the Find It @ VSU button, this indicates that there is an extra step to access the article. The article may be found in another database or resource or it might available through an Interlibrary Loan (ILL).