Beginner E-Books
Learn Easy Sewing Skills by
Want to watch something wonderful take shape? Grab a front row seat at your sewing machine and observe as clever pot holders and stylish totes nearly magically appear at your fingertips. Having fun and learning to sew go hand in hand thanks to Lorine Mason’s Learn Easy Sewing Skills. Start at the very beginning with basic explanations and easy practice exercises. Then conjure up any of 11 show-stopping kitchen projects. Your family and friends will be amazed at your enchanting sleight of hand.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1573675792Publication Date: 2014-09-18
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Sewing by
This brief and accessible guide introduces sewing as a relaxing and fun hobby to absolute beginners. It covers all aspects of sewing from the simplest sewing on of a button to designing a complete wardrobe.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1631594427Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Learn Decorative Machine Stitching by
Using stitches available on current sewing machines, this creative handbook offers the answer to the common question of OC what else can I do with all those decorative stitches on my sewing machine?OCO From using ribbon on the bobbin to create 3-D fiber decorations to sewing in circles or waves, this guide is loaded with easy projects, full-color photos, and simple step-by-step instructions to get creative juices flowing. Projects within include placemats and napkins; evening, tote, and gift bags; greeting cards; a baby bib; an e-book holder; and more. Offering delightful and satisfying ways to use a machineOCOs extra stitches, this book is a must-have creative reference for any machine-sewerOCOs library."
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1592174892Publication Date: 2013-07-01
How to Read a Pattern
Pattern e-books
The Hero's Closet by
Cosplayers rejoice! The Hero's Closet is the ultimate DIY guide to creating unique and fantastical homemade costumes This essential handbook offers detailed, step-by-step instructions that cover the basics of sewing costumes (which often require skills not found in standard sewing guides) to help even the most novice sewists create the costumes of their dreams. A skilled crafter and avid cosplayer, Gillian Conahan walks readers through finding inspiration online and through their fandom; shares insight into translating character art into real-world garments; and offers advice on pattern selection, alterations, fabrics, and embellishment techniques. The Hero's Closet is the first how-to handbook on the art of sewing for cosplay. A must-have guide for Comic Con and Halloween, it's essential for all ambitious fans with a DIY spirit who love the idea of cosplay, but need the inspiration and technical tips to make an awesome costume.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781683350095Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Basic Black by
*INCLUDES 26 DOWNLOADABLE PATTERNS* Sew chic, dark-toned clothes with this stylish Japanese sewing book and add a touch of originality to your wardrobe. Basic Black is the English edition of a classic Japanese sewing book which provides sew-it-yourself Western-sized patterns for 26 basic garments, along with detailed, easy-to-follow diagrams and instructions. Author Sato Watanabe has published many books that are favorites among Japanese sewing fans. In this book she shows you how to make truly professional-quality pieces easily and inexpensively at home. DIY Sewing designs include: Lace Shirred Blouse Tiered Sleeveless Dress Zip-up Vest with High Neck Frilled Shirt in Charcoal Flannel Short Coat And many more... All of the styles and fashion are easily customized to create your own personal style, and there is truly something for everyone and every occasion in this book--from a smart two-texture combo dress to a relaxed, bohemian tunic--and everything in-between. All the styles are thoroughly modern and practical, ranging from softly feminine or straight-line simple to smartly-tailored or loosely-deconstructed. Simple lines make these garments perfect for women of all ages and all sizes. This book includes a complete western-sized sewing pattern for each design that is easily adjusted to fit your body form.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781462915620Publication Date: 2014-07-08
Cut It, Sew It, Stow It by
A how-to guide for creating organizers suitable for every room in the house, this sewing manual includes patterns, tips for organizing each space, and instructions for new stitching techniques. Sewers achieve new skills while making useful items for the home or practical gifts for others. Eye-catching fabrics and embellishments--including buttons, snaps, zippers, and decorative threads--make for sensational, designer-quality items. Clutter-reducing projects include "Closet Hanging Pockets," "Craft Room Hanging Buckets," "Kitchen Bag Hamper," "Stow Away Pillow Cover," and "Wardrobe Accessory Hanger."
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1596357568Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Guides to Get Started
Sewing Class for Beginners
Sewing by Hand
- A Primer to Hand Sewing: 17 Lessons for BeginnersBy R. Geraldi
- How to Hand Sew Basic Stitches From Basting to ButtonsBy Debbie Colgrove
- How To Sew by Hand: 6 Helpful Stitches for Home Sewing ProjectsBy Ashley Poskin
- How To Get Started in SewingBy Lara Sorokanich
- Sewing Basics # 2: Learn How to Sew by HandBy Olga Balasa
