Supporting Pattern Makers
- Patterns by Ukrainian Designers on RavelryRavelry is a social media website for yarn artists to post about their makes, but also allows people to sell their patterns. Please follow this link if you would like to support a designer in Ukraine.
Learn to Knit
Beginner e-books
Cool Knitting for Kids: a Fun and Creative Introduction to Fiber Art by
Learn about the basics of fiber arts while creating cool stuff. The Cool Knitting for Kids title teaches the first steps of how to knit. Activities will help kids use what they learned to make warm mitts for your hands, a simple scarf, hand-dyed yarn and more. Custom how-to photos and easy step-by-step instructions make crafting a blast. Don't wait to get cool crafting! Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1629683841Publication Date: 2014-08-15
Advanced techniques e-books
Cable Ready by
Geared towards knitting novices, this instructional book leads beginning crafters into new levels of stitching skill. The 10 quick-to-make designs throughout this collection range from simple projects to a few requiring more advanced skills and understanding of cable-knitting techniques. Beginning with an informative tutorial that introduces cable knitting, this book goes on to explain methods that incorporate ribbing, bobbles, knit, purl, and seed stitches. Projects include cardigans, shrugs, scarves, cowls, and even a kimono.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1596354429Publication Date: 2011-08-28
My First Cardigan Workbook by
Designed to be used as a self-guided tutorial, this book develops and improves knitting skills through quick-to-knit projects for baby cardigans. The small size of the baby sweater allows for more time spent learning the new skill with less time just plain knitting. Crafters can work through the sweaters in the order presented or make the basic pattern and jump straight to the technique that they most desire. The book is perfect for knitters who would like to progress from easy to intermediate projectsOCoonce the baby-sized options have been completed, the sweaters can be made in adult sizes."
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1596356286Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Fair Isle Basics and Beyond by
Two approaches for colorwork knitting, using either chunky or worsted-weight yarns, are featured in this collection of stitching patterns. With only the basic knit stitch, crafters can create 17 projects that incorporate up to five colors. Projects include scarves, hats, leg warmers, and mittens.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1596354437Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Country Weekend Socks by
From the author of Country Weekend Knits, Madeline Weston's latest book Country Weekend Sockspresents 25 unique designs knitted in sumptuous wool and cotton yarns. The rich textures and soft natural colorways take their cue from the coastline and countryside--big skies, choppy seas and fishing boats, sand dunes, driftwood, and beach pebbles, rolling hills, woodland, and old stone walls, heather, moss and autumn leaves. Virtually any stitch pattern can be adapted to socks, and the ones featured here come from all corners of the British Isles and beyond. They include multicolored designs from Fair Isle, Turkey, and Egypt; intricate lace and openwork knitting from the Shetland Isles; textured gansey stitches from the east coast of England and theWestern Isles of Scotl∧ and chunky cable and Aran patterns from the Isles of Aran. Some of these traditional patterns--designs dating from the eighteenth andnineteenth centuries --have been re-created by Margaret Stuart and Margaret MacInnes. Others have been reinterpreted by leading designer-knitters, including Sasha Kagan, Debbie Abrahams, and Rita Taylor. Most of the socks are knitted on four double-pointed needles from the top down; the Turkish and Egyptian patterns are knitted from the toe up; while some lace and intarsia designs are knitted on two needles. With both long and short styles, there are socks for every occasion--to wear with sturdy walking boots, classic tweeds, pretty dresses, and cozy pajamas.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780312644222Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Knitting a Scarf
Guides for Getting Started
How to Knit for Beginners by Sheep and Stitch
The Beginner's Guide to Knitting Needle Sizes By Ashley Little
Stitch encyclopedias
250 Japanese Knitting Stitches: The Original Pattern Bible by
250 Japanese Knitting Stitches contains the original collection of knitting stitches first published by Hitomi Shida in 1996. Copies of the original Japanese edition have been jealously coveted by knitters around the world, and now Tuttle Publishing brings you this classic in English for the first time! Hitomi Shida's previous work, the Japanese Knitting Stitch Bible was released by Tuttle in October 2017 and has already been purchased (and tested) by thousands of avid knitters who are thrilled to discover a treasure trove of elegant and intricate new patterns. 250 Japanese Knitting Stitches was Hitomi Shida's first effort and, like its successor, is filled with her highly original and beautiful designs and variations on knitting classics. Translated and introduced by veteran knitting instructor Gayle Roehm, the best-known teacher of Japanese knitting in America. Roehm guides knitters through the particulars of the patterns and explains how to execute the stitches. This knitting reference book features the following: Stitches designed for borders and edgings Beautiful cable stitches, both simple and elaborate Elegant popcorn stitches from fine to bold Multiple variations on individual patternsShida's finished projects are a wonder to behold and accomplished knitters will brave even the most daunting of stitch patterns to create them. Filled with 250 distinctive and inventive patterns—with a stitch diagram and photo for each pattern—this highly anticipated book is destined to be on every knitter's bookshelf.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1462919871Publication Date: 2018
The Knitting All Around Stitch Dictionary by
Wendy Bernard's groundbreaking reference title Up, Down, All-Around Stitch Dictionary was the first of its kind to provide stitch patterns written for top-down, bottom-up, back-and-forth, and in-the-round constructions--and readers took notice. Now Bernard is back with The Knitting All Around Stitch Dictionary, which picks up where the first volume left off, adding hundreds of new stitch patterns organized similarly by type--knit and purl, textured stitches, ribs, lace, and cables--plus a chapter on mosaic knitting. Each chapter of The Knitting All Around Stitch Dictionary includes a customizable pattern so that knitters can easily swap out stitch patterns to make their own unique knitted items.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1613129467Publication Date: 2016-04-26
50 Tunisian Stitches by
Perfect for anyone wanting a library of unique Tunisian stitches, this guide teaches the basic simple, knit, purl, reverse, extended simple, double, full, and twisted stitches that are then used to create the other, more complicatedastitches. A Getting Started introduction with helpful illustrations and photos is followed by fourabeautiful designs: a keyhole scarf, a roll brim hat, a mobius shawl, and a beautiful readers wrap. Each design is made using medium-weight yarn and fits most adults."
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 159635934XPublication Date: 2014-01-22
Casting Your First Stitch
Pattern e-books
Mindful Knitting by
"Mindful Knitting" contains ten original and enjoyable knitting projects, each complemented by a meditation exercise. As knitters know the craft is much more than the finished project. By looking at the parallels between knitting and meditation--how simple repetitive actions can lead to a grater connection with the world--this knitting book shows you how to enrich your life by combining the two. Author Tara Jon Manning, a noted knitwear designer and practicing Buddhist, explores the spiritual rewards of knitting: Bring inner serenity to your knitting practice--and everyday activities Fully appreciate the objects you knit, making eah more significant and satisfying Connect to others by donating to charities, creating gifts, or knitting with a group.To help with with your knitting projects, "Mindful knitting" includes clearly written patterns, tips for intuitive knitting, and a helpful glossary of knitting techniques and resources. Whether you're an advanced or a beginning knitter or a new or seasoned meditator, this Buddhist knitting book will help you develop a renewed sense of self and an increased appreciation of the world around you.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1281607339Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Comfort Knitting and Crochet: Afghans by
A treasury of patterns for creative knitters and crocheters to cozy up with! For many of us, afghans are the epitome of comfort. Colorful and inviting, they are a staple of the home, without which a living room or bedroom just wouldn't feel complete. And whether you're making one for yourself, as a housewarming gift, or to welcome a new baby into the world, the process of creating a handmade afghan can be as rewarding as the finished product. Comfort Knitting and Crochet: Afghans features 50 patterns for these cozy blankets, made with Berroco Comfort yarn--an affordable, ultra-soft acrylic/nylon blend--and designed by the Berroco team, headed by Norah Gaughan. The book includes something for everyone: The designs range from ultra-modern to traditional, from spare to embellished, and are inspired by sources as varied as Scottish tweeds, Japanese Ikat, and Delft pottery. Intended for knitters and crocheters of every skill level, this collection brings new life to the well-loved and versatile afghan.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1497601479Publication Date: 2014-06-10
