Foraging and Gardening Books!
The Beginner's Guide to Mushrooms by
The Beginner's Guide to Mushrooms is your ultimate guide to mycology. Whether you've never picked a mushroom before in your life or you've been cultivating mushrooms at home for ages, the expert advice in this comprehensive mushroom manual will transform your practice. Never before have mushrooms generated so much interest, for their health benefits and medicinal properties, as well as a new understanding of their crucial role in a healthy environment and ability to regenerate damaged ones. If you are a newcomer, mycology, or the study of mushrooms and other fungi, can seem daunting. While other field guides are geared toward experts with advanced knowledge or regional in scope and aimed at only a few easy-to-recognize mushrooms, The Beginner's Guide to Mushrooms by veteran mycologists Britt A. Bunyard and Tavis Lynch is a complete reference and guidebook to get you started identifying, cultivating, cooking, and preserving mushrooms. The Beginner's Guide to Mushrooms opens with important basics about wild mushrooming and how to use the book. Information about what fungi are and their role in the environment and around the home is provided in brief and very understandable terms. Basic wild mushroom anatomy is discussed along with how to identify mushrooms and various characteristics to look for--of great importance if you are interested in learning how to recognize edible wild species...as well as dangerous look-alikes. The guide then covers: All the major groups of wild mushrooms, pointing out habitat, region, and notable characteristics--large photographs with easy-to-view characteristics facilitate correct identification. Mushroom cultivation--with easy-to-follow illustrated instructions, learn how to grow mushrooms at home, including how to collect wild specimens and domesticate them. Culinary uses and how to preserve wild mushrooms to be enjoyed in the kitchen all year round. Begin your wonderful exploration of wild mushrooms with this accessible yet thorough beginner's guide.
ISBN: 1631599127Publication Date: 2020-12-08
Browsing Nature's Aisles by
This guide to suburban foraging shares the "inspiring journal of one family's effort to break free from manufactured foods and transition to . . . wild fare" (Thomas J. Elpel, author, Botany in a Day).As part of their commitment to increasing self-reliance and resiliency, Wendy and Eric Brown decided to spend a year incorporating wild edibles into their regular diet. Their goal was to use native flora and fauna to help bridge the gap between what their family could produce and what they needed to survive. The experience fundamentally changed their definition of food.Packed with a wealth of information on collecting, preparing, and preserving easily identifiable wild edibles found in most suburban landscapes, Browsing Nature s Aisles is the story of one suburban family s adventures in wild foraging. This unique and inspiring guide is a must-read for those who wish to enhance their food security by availing themselves of the cornucopia on their doorstep.
ISBN: 1550925407Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Dandelion Hunter by
In this engaging and eye-opening read, forager-journalist Becky Lerner sets out on a quest to find her inner hunter-gatherer in the city of Portland, Oregon. After a disheartening week trying to live off wild plants from the streets and parks near her home, she learns the ways of the first people who lived there and, along with a quirky cast of characters, discovers an array of useful wild plants hiding in plain sight. As she harvests them for food, medicine, and just-in-case apocalypse insurance, Lerner delves into anthropology, urban ecology and sustainability, and finds herself looking at Nature in a very different way. Humorous, philosophical, and informative, Dandelion Hunter has something for everyone, from the curious neophyte to the seasoned forager.
ISBN: 0762780622Publication Date: 2013-04-02
Some Useful Wild Plants by
With over forty years since its original printing, and over 30,000 copies sold, this bestselling guide still remains a trusted and much-consulted reference for those interested in identifying, foraging and growing wild plants for food and medicine. Now Some Useful Wild Plants is back in print for a new generation of foragers and herbalists. Some Useful Wild Plants contains sections on useful herbs, trees, berries and seaweeds, as well as commentary on avoiding poisonous species. Pick the young tender leaves of orach, salsify and miner's lettuce for a delicious and vitamin-rich spring salad or stir-fry. Concoct a cherry bark and licorice fern syrup to soothe a sore throat. Repel insects naturally using sage oil or vanilla leaf. From alder to yarrow, each featured plant has useful descriptors for identification and details on how to harvest, as well as how the plant is traditionally used for medicine by First Nations, pioneers and contemporary herbalists. Clear line drawings are provided to assist foragers in accurate identification. Directions are included for the preparation of ointments, salves, poultices, compresses and tinctures. Dan Jason also addresses sustainability when foraging to ensure that harvesting supports the continuous growth of the plant and the natural environment.
ISBN: 1550177915Publication Date: 2017-02-18
The Deerholme Foraging Book by
The Deerholme Foraging Book is an exploration of the wild foods found in the Pacific Northwest. It is written by award-winning chef and author Bill Jones and features local mushrooms, edible plants, sea vegetables, and shellfish. The book is the product of twenty years of research and professional cooking with foraged foods. It serves as an introduction to the world of wild food and contains identification and sourcing information, harvesting and preparation tips, and more than one hundred delicious recipes featuring many types of wild foods. The recipe list includes techniques for preserving food and covers basic pantry preparations, appetizers, soups, salads, and desserts, as well as meat, seafood, and vegetable dishes. The recipes are global in influence and use simple techniques woven in with expert knowledge to create good, homemade food. Linking to traditional uses for wild foods and future possibilities for our diet and wellbeing, as well as enhancing our appreciation of the environment around us, The Deerholme Foraging Book also includes an index, a bibliography, full-colour photos of wild foods and dishes, and Jones's own foraging stories.
ISBN: 1771510471Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Foraging in Southern California by
Your Award-Winning Field Guide to Foraging for Wild Edibles: What, Where, and When to Look Foraging for food is an engaging and beneficial pastime that anyone can enjoy. It inspires connections to the land and can help to improve your health. Plus, many target plants for foragers are non-native, so the activity can support--if not improve--biological diversity and ecological well-being. Winner of a National Outdoor Book Award for best nature guidebook, Foraging Southern California introduces you to plentiful and delicious foods, from berries and fruits to roots, seeds, and even tasty aquatic options, like kelp and crayfish. Expert forager Douglas Kent shares his decades of experience in this handy guide that's perfect for beginners and intermediates. Learn what to look for, as well as when and where to look. Key identification features, written instructions, and full-color photographs help you to comfortably and confidently know that you're harvesting the right species. A compare section provides information on dangerous look-alikes, helping to ensure your foraging success and personal health. The "Top 10 Edibles" section provides a starting point for beginners, and species throughout the book are organized by harvestable quality, which quickly leads to the relevant information for your own foraging needs. Foraging must be done with knowledge and consideration. Foraging Southern California provides information that can benefit you and the environment. Grab the book, get outside, and enjoy nature's bounty.
ISBN: 9781591939153Publication Date: 2019-10-29
Foraging New England : edible wild food and medicinal plants from Maine to the Adirondacks to Long Island Sound by
From beach peas to serviceberries, hen of the woods to Indian cucumber, ostrich ferns to sea rocket, Foraging New England guides the reader to the edible wild foods and healthful herbs of the Northeast. Helpfully organized by environmental zone, the book is an authoritative guide for nature lovers, outdoorsmen, and gastronomes.
ISBN: 0762779039Publication Date: 2013-04-02
Foraging and Farming in the Eastern Woodlands by
"The latest thinking in Eastern Woodlands paleoethnobotany; a volume which belongs on the bookshelf of every archaeologist and paleoethnobotanist who is concerned with plants and culture in North America."--Deborah M. Pearsall, University of Missouri "The papers . . . provide succinct updates in a rapidly developing field and] explore many facets of the cultural implications of plant remains, taking paleoethnobotanical interpretation in provocative new directions."--Gary W. Crawford, Erindale College Combining broad chronological syntheses and regionally specific case studies, this volume presents up-to-date findings about plant use by prehistoric and early historic peoples who lived in the Eastern Woodlands of North America. The contributors stress that current depictions of the subsistence strategies, settlement patterns, and social relations of these earliest Americans need to be reformulated to accommodate our new understanding of both the importance of native crops and the variability in peoples' foodways. Contents Introduction, by C. Margaret Scarry The Importance of Native Crops during the Late Archaic and Woodland Periods, by Richard A. Yarnell The Archaic Period and the Flotation Revolution, by Jefferson Chapman and Patty Jo Watson Early and Middle Woodland Period Paleoethnobotany, by Gayle J. Fritz Farmers of the Late Woodland, by Sissel Johannessen Variability in Mississippian Crop Production Strategies, by C. Margaret Scarry New Methods for Studying the Origins of New World Domesticates: The Squash Example, by Deena S. Decker-Walters Reanalysis of Seed Crops from Emge: New Implications for Late Woodland Subsistence-Settlement Systems, by Sandra L. Dunavan Plants and People: Cultural, Biological, and Ecological Responses to Wood Exploitation, by Lee A. Newsom Cultural Change and Subsistence: The Middle Woodland and Late Woodland Transition in the Mid-Ohio Valley, by Dee Anne Wymer Agricultural Risk and the Development of the Moundville Chiefdom, by C. Margaret Scarry Food, Dishes, and Society in the Mississippi Valley, by Sissel Johannessen Wood Overexploitation and the Collapse of Cahokia, by Neal H. Lopinot and William I. Woods Climate, Culture, and Oneota Subsistence in Central Illinois, by Frances B. King Old Customs and Traditions in New Terrain: Sixteenth- and Seventeenth-Century Archaeobotanical Data from "La Florida, " by Donna L. Ruhl C. Margaret Scarry is staff archaeologist at the Program for Cultural Resource Assessment at the University of Kentucky and coauthor of "Reconstructing Historic Subsistence: With an Example from Sixteenth-Century Spanish Florida."
ISBN: 0813023351Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Foraging in the Tennessee River Valley by
Plants are inarguably a significant component of the diets of foraging peoples in non-arctic environments. As such, the decisions and activities associated with the gathering and exploitation of plants are important to foragers' subsistence pursuits. Plant remains are particularly important for understanding gathering activities. Inasmuch as plant foods comprised a considerable portion of early foragers' diets, and the gathering and processing of these plant resources occupied a significant proportion of the population, namely women, children, and the elderly, an understanding of gathering activities and how they relate to use of the landscape is critical. Organic remains are poorly preserved in the acidic soils of the Southeast and are often limited or absent from open-air sites, but archaeological deposits protected within rockshelters provide an exception. Organic remains are consistently well preserved in their rain-protected deposits, and rockshelters are locations that groups repeatedly visited. Because of this repeated use and remarkable preservation, significant quantities of well-preserved faunal and botanical remains can be recovered from rockshelter deposits. In Foraging, Hollenbach analyzes and compares botanical remains from archaeological excavations in four rockshelters in the Middle Tennessee River Valley. The artifact assemblages of rockshelter and open-air sites are similar, so it is reasonable to assume that faunal and botanical assemblages would be similar, if open-air sites had comparable preservation of organic remains. The rich organic data recovered from rockshelters therefore may be considered representative of general subsistence and settlement strategies, and can significantly inform our views of lifeways of Late Paleoindian and Early Archaic peoples. The data produced from this analysis provides a valuable baseline of plant food use by early foragers in the region, and establishes a model of Late Paleoindian and Early Archaic lifeways in the Southeast.
ISBN: 0817381260Publication Date: 2011-04-25
The Lifeways of Hunter-Gatherers by
In this book, Robert L. Kelly challenges the preconceptions that hunter-gatherers were Paleolithic relics living in a raw state of nature, instead crafting a position that emphasizes their diversity, and downplays attempts to model the original foraging lifeway or to use foragers to depict human nature stripped to its core. Kelly reviews the anthropological literature for variation among living foragers in terms of diet, mobility, sharing, land tenure, technology, exchange, male-female relations, division of labor, marriage, descent and political organization. Using the paradigm of human behavioral ecology, he analyzes the diversity in these areas and seeks to explain rather than explain away variability, and argues for an approach to prehistory that uses archaeological data to test theory rather than one that uses ethnographic analogy to reconstruct the past.
ISBN: 1139176137Publication Date: 2013-04-05
A view to a kill : investigating Middle Palaeolithic subsistence using an optimal foraging perspective by
The sophistication of Neanderthal behavioural strategies have been the subject of debate from the moment of their recognition as a separate species of hominin in 1856. This book presents a study on Neanderthal foraging prowess. Novel ethnographic and primatological insights, suggest that increasing dependence on high quality foods, such as meat, caused the brain to evolve to a large size and thus led to highly intelligent hominins. From this baseline, the author studies the Neanderthal archaeological record in order to gain insight into the knowledge-intensity of Neanderthal hunting behaviour. In this research, an optimal foraging perspective is applied to Pleistocene bone assemblages. According to this perspective, foraging success is an important factor in an individuals evolutionary fitness. Therefore foraging is organised as efficiently as possible. The prey species that were selected and hunted by Neanderthals are analysed. The author investigates economic considerations that influenced Neanderthal prey choice. These considerations are based on estimates of the population densities of the available prey species and on estimates of the relative difficulty of hunting those species. The results demonstrate that when Neanderthals operated within poor environments, their prey choice was constrained: they were not able to hunt species living in large herds. In these environments, solitary species were the preferred prey. It is striking that Neanderthals successfully focussed on the largest and most dangerous species in poor environments. However, in richer environments, these constraints were lifted and species living in herds were successfully exploited. In order to assess the accuracy of this approach, bone assemblages formed by cave hyenas are also analysed. The combined results of the Neanderthal and hyena analyses show that an optimal foraging perspective provides a powerful tool to increase our understanding of Pleistocene ecology. The niches of two social carnivores of similar size, which were seemingly similar, are successfully distinguished. This result lends extra credence to the conclusions regarding Neanderthal foraging strategies. This book contributes to the debate surrounding Neanderthal competence and ability. It combines an up-to-date review of current knowledge on Neanderthal biology and archaeology, with novel approaches to the archaeological record. It is thus an important contribution to the current knowledge of this enigmatic species.
ISBN: 9088901651Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Dear Dirt Doctor by
"Dallas Morning News columnist and fervent advocate of the organic technique leaves no stone unturned on the subject of chemical-free gardening." --Publishers Weekly Howard Garrett has converted gardeners throughout Texas and beyond to gardening the natural way without chemical fertilizers and toxic pesticides. In this revised and updated edition of The Dirt Doctor's Guide to Organic Gardening, he uses a question-and-answer format to present a wealth of new information on organic gardening, landscaping, pest control, and natural living. The book also incorporates valuable feedback and suggestions from gardeners who've successfully used Howard's methods. "This is a 'must-read' for home gardeners. It should be mandatory reading for commercial growers." -California Garden
ISBN: 1477304142Publication Date: 2014-10-03
Earthly Delights by
Earthly Delights: Gardening by the Seasons the Easy Way is just the tonic for the gardener who wants that beautiful garden but doesn't want to spend six hours a day achieving it. Organized by the planting seasons, this book offers tested strategies for achieving a glorious garden without the backache and vexations. And every tip eschews chemicals and other pesticides. If you are a lazy gardener, someone on a limited budget, or someone easily intimidated by it all all this book will show you how you can overcome any of these obstacles.
ISBN: 1461625858Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Gardening with a Wild Heart by
Judith Lowry's voice and experiences make a rich matrix for essays that include discussions of wildflower gardening, the ecology of native grasses, wildland seed-collecting, principles of natural design, and plant/animal interactions. This lyrical and articulate mix of the practical and the poetic combines personal story, wildland ecology, restoration gardening practices, and native plant horticulture.
ISBN: 0520933877Publication Date: 2007-03-19
Organic Gardening for Everyone by
Organic Gardening for Everyone is a been-there-done-that guide that shows how anyone with an interest in growing healthy vegetables, but without gardening experience, can take the leap and become a family gardener, just like author and Youtube star CaliKim did. She provides complete step by step information on growing the most popular edibles organically, and also gives sound advice on how to take on the challenges of balancing a hectic lifestyle with successful growing-and how to involve the whole family in the process. It is an uplifting and inspiring story packed with practical advice.
ISBN: 0760365342Publication Date: 2019-12-24
Practical Organic Gardening by
Get your hands dirty in the garden! Practical Organic Gardening is a comprehensive guide to organic gardening practices that focuses on hands-on, up-to-date information and high-quality visual information. Practical Organic Gardening sprouts homegrown, healthy edibles and other safe plants that are nourishing and tasty for your family, pets, and beneficial wildlife. Organic gardening isn't just for environmentalists anymore. Over the last several years it has been a popular gardening method. Believe it or not, it organic gardening has actually been around for most of the last century, but interest in organic gardening has soared in recent years as gardeners have become more aware of the quality of their food. Now is your chance to learn with this comprehensive book. Written by Mark Highland, founder of The Organic Mechanic, this is far from a hippie manifesto; it is a scientifically driven, modern-day dive into the organic methods, products, and practices that will appeal to any home gardener looking to make the transition from conventional to organic.
ISBN: 0760359687Publication Date: 2017-12-01
