Databases, Discover and GALILEO
A database organizes information so that it is easy to search and find relevant information.
Searching a database is more efficient and effective than searching the open web.
- The library subscribes to (pays for) databases that include the full text of articles and books. This means you can find full-text articles in a database that you cannot access through a web search.
- Databases only include selected resources. This means you don't have to wade through advertisements and irrelevant results, like you would see in a web search.
- The articles, books, etc. in a database are organized by several kinds of information. This means that you can do a very specific search and only get back relevant results.
Find a Database Relevant to Your Research Topic
By Subject
1. Go to the library's home page.
2. Click on Research Guides
3. Click on the Select Subject drop box to see a list of available guides
4. Click on the Subject Guide that most closely matches your research topic, or field of study
5. Each Subject Guide lists relevant databases. Select a database to begin searching for articles.
Unsure which Subject Guide to use? Not sure which database to start with? Ask a librarian!
By Course
A great resource that librarians put together for specific classes. Course specific guides can be found on this page. Click on Course Guides to see the complete list.
By Topic
Topic Guides can be seen on this page. Click on Topic Guide to see the complete list.
Don't see the topic guide you need? Ask a librarian! We can help you find the relevant guide or create a new one.
Discover
Discover searches GALILEO for books, articles, media, and other resources. Discover searches many databases at once.
Searching Discover is a good option if you are just starting your research or your topic is multidisciplinary.
Directions
To search in Discover:
1. Go to the library home page.
2. Type your search terms or keywords into the Discover search box.
3. Click on Find.
Discover - Advanced Search
Directions:
To search using Advanced Search:
1. Go to the library home page.
2. Click on Advanced Search, under the Discover search box
3. Enter your search terms or keywords into the search boxes.
4. Select limiters, if you want to.
5. Click on Find.
GALILEO
GALILEO is a statewide, online library portal that provides participating schools with access to over 100 databases that contain scholarly journal articles and academic videos. Students, faculty, and staff of Valdosta State University have access to these databases free of charge. Most of the databases within GALILEO provide access to full text scholarly journal articles that would otherwise be unavailable for free. You may search multiple databases within GALILEO at the same time or you may focus your search within one specific database in GALILEO.
GALILEO Bento
Bento is a version of GALILEO that displays the same information as the classic GALILEO search but in a different format. See the video below for more information on navigating the Bento search in GALILEO.
Higher Education News Sources
- Inside Higher EdOnline source for news and opinions about higher education and college and university students.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationA source with news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Article titles with and without a lock icon are accessible. For older content use a Chronicle search which covers articles from 1990 to the Current edition.
- 50 Best College NewspapersCollege Choice's published ranking of the top college newspapers in the U.S., with links to the newspapers' websites.
Other Local News Sources
- Local Media AffiliatesFrom the City of Valdosta website, a list of local news media providers.
Odum Library databases for finding articles and industry information
NAICS codes:
- NAICS 511110, Newspaper Publishers
- NAICS 519110, News Syndicates
- NAICS 519130, Internet Publishing and Broadcasting and Web Search Portals
- ABI/InformArticles and other resources about business, management, and industry news. Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
- Business Source CompleteScholarly and peer-reviewed articles about business and management theory.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. - Communication and Mass Media CompleteScholarly and peer-reviewed resources for Communications and Mass Media.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. - ProQuest NewspapersFull-text newspaper articles from the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and more, from the 1980s to present.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Books and Other Sources
Saving Community Journalism by ISBN: 1469615436Publication Date: 2014-04-29America's community newspapers have entered an age of disruption. Towns and cities continue to need the journalism and advertising so essential to nurturing local identity and connection among citizens. But as the business of newspaper publishing collides with the digital revolution, and as technology redefines consumer habits and the very notion of community, how can newspapers survive and thrive? In Saving Community Journalism, veteran media executive Penelope Muse Abernathy draws on cutting-edge research and analysis to reveal pathways to transformation and long-term profitability. Offering practical guidance for editors and publishers, Abernathy shows how newspapers can build community online and identify new opportunities to generate revenue. Examining experiences at a wide variety of community papers--from a 7,000-circulation weekly in West Virginia to a 50,000-circulation daily in California and a 150,000-circulation Spanish-language weekly in the heart of Chicago--Saving Community Journalism is designed to help journalists and media-industry managers create and implement new strategies that will allow them to prosper in the twenty-first century. Abernathy's findings will interest everyone with a stake in the health and survival of local media.
