Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selecting a Library Database
On the left, you will find a search tips for GALILEO's Discover search. Discover allows you to search many databases at once. Discover is a good option for multidisciplinary research. However, it can be very broad and not all results will be relevant.
On the right, you will find suggestions for specific databases that you can search individually. Searching specific databases allows you to focus your research on one discipline and use a variety of discipline-specific search tools to focus and refine your results.
GALILEO is a statewide, online library portal that provides participating schools with access to over 100 databases that contain scholarly journal articles and academic videos. Students, faculty, and staff of Valdosta State University have access to these databases free of charge. Most of the databases within GALILEO provide access to full text scholarly journal articles that would otherwise be unavailable for free. You may search multiple databases within GALILEO at the same time or you may focus your search within one specific database in GALILEO.
Discover searches GALILEO for books, articles, media, and other resources. Discover searches many databases at once.
Searching Discover is a good option if you are just starting your research or your topic is multidisciplinary.
To search in Discover:
You can also do an Advanced Search in Discover:
ERIC at EBSCOhost
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Education database with articles, ERIC documents, and scholarly books.
Professional Development Collection
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Articles and pamphlets for educators.
Teacher Reference Center
Articles in the education field.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Current edition with No Full Text Delay. Article titles with and without a lock icon are accessible. For older content use a Chronicle search which covers articles from 1990 to the Current edition.
Kinesiology & Physical Education
CINAHL Plus with Full text
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Scholarly nursing database with peer-reviewed full-text articles.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. The academic subscription version of PubMed, with full-text scholarly medical and nursing articles.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Articles in the Nursing and Health Sciences fields.