Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for Migrating to OERs
#GoOpen Districts Launch Packet
Comprehensive Department of Education guide for districts who are interested in creating a plan to shift to using Open Educational Resources.
Open Textbooks and Other Resources
"CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit that creates and aggregates high quality curated STEM content"
Provides curricular materials and lesson plans for a wide variety of subjects that are searchable by topic and grade level.
One of the originators of online open courses, Khan academy has strong offerings in Math and Science that are designed by grade level/subject. There are also humanities offerings, including ELA lessons by grade level. Requires you to register with the site, but there is no cost for anything.
Mathematics Vision Project
Limited free lessons on Mathematics that are best suited to High School curricula.
Merlot Advanced Search
Click on the Audience box to select grade levels.
OER Commons Advanced Search
Select the appropriate grade level under "Education Level". Contains content for pre-K - Graduate Degree.
Provides information about EOR teaching, pedagogy, and the COUP framework.
Open access textbooks geared towards children from birth to age 12.
PBS Learning Media
Collection of video lessons and supplemental materials that are national/state standards aligned and work with Google Classroom.
Georgia Virtual Learning
Georgia standards aligned OER for Middle Grades and High School courses.
Minnesota OER Commons
Lesson plans and other small scale OERs grouped loosely by subject. Part of the larger OER commons network. Materials are searchable by grade level.
MIT Open Courseware for High School
A curated collection of MIT Open Courseware courses selected for their applicability to high school curricula.
Utah Education Network
Utah Standards aligned K-12 OER resources. The materials have licenses that permit revision to other state standards.
Amazon Free E-books
Amazon's collection of primarily public domain works.
Contains free ebooks (primarily public domain classics), study guides, and reference materials as well.
Directory of Open Access Books (doab)
Searchable directory of open access books produced by several OA initiatives.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital library of primary books, documents, and other materials, many public domain.
Collection of over 20,000,000 free texts from numerous sources and covering a wide variety of topics. Use the limiters on the left hand side of the page to narrow down the available materials.
A small, but nicely formatted collection of classic literary works in epub, mobi, and pdf formats.
Free electronic books.