Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OER Evaluation Criteria
A step by step guide from the Affordable Learning Georgia initiative detailing how to evaluate OER textbooks.
Achieve OER Rubrics
Guidelines and rubrics for evaluating OER. Particularly useful are the rubrics for standards alignment.
Resources for Migrating to OERs
#GoOpen Districts Launch Packet
Comprehensive Department of Education guide for districts who are interested in creating a plan to shift to using Open Educational Resources.
Open Textbooks and Other Resources
"CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit that creates and aggregates high quality curated STEM content"
Provides curricular materials and lesson plans for a wide variety of subjects that are searchable by topic and grade level. Materials are rated by Curriki and users.
One of the originators of online open courses, Khan academy has strong offerings in Math and Science that are designed by grade level/subject. There are also humanities offerings, including ELA lessons by grade level. Requires you to register with the site, but there is no cost for anything.
Mathematics Vision Project
Limited free lessons on Mathematics that are best suited to High School curricula.
Merlot Advanced Search
Click on the Audience box to select grade levels.
OER Commons Advanced Search
Select the appropriate grade level under "Education Level". Contains content for pre-K - Graduate Degree.
Complete OER/National Standards Aligned Curriculum optimized for use in google classroom. Requires a forever free account to view curriculum. Please check the permissions it requires and ensure they are compatible with local school system regulations.
Open access textbooks geared towards children from birth to age 12.
PBS Learning Media
Collection of video lessons and supplemental materials that are national/state standards aligned and work with Google Classroom.
Georgia Virtual Learning
Georgia standards aligned OER for Middle Grades and High School courses.
Minnesota OER Commons
Lesson plans and other small scale OERs grouped loosely by subject. Part of the larger OER commons network. Materials are searchable by grade level.
MIT Open Courseware for High School
A curated collection of MIT Open Courseware courses selected for their applicability to high school curricula.
Utah Education Network
Utah Standards aligned K-12 OER resources. The materials have licenses that permit revision to other state standards.
Amazon Free E-books
Amazons collection of primarily public domain works. Excellent if you are studying literary classics.
Contains free ebooks (primarily public domain classics), but also contains study guides and reference materials as well.
Directory of Open Access Books (doab)
Searchable directory of open access books produced by several OA initiatives.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Huge library of full-text searchable public domain texts.
Collection of over 20,000,000 free texts from numerous sources and covering a wide variety of topics. Use the limiters on the left hand side of the page to narrow down the available materials.
A small, but nicely formatted collection of classic literary works in epub, mobi, and pdf formats.
Large collection of public domain ebooks in formats that will work on multiple devices and e-readers.
Temporary Free Resources
Stories by Audible.com
A collection of K-12 audiobooks that are free to listen to and require no account. Available as long as schools remain closed due to COVID-19.
Human Rights Campaign Welcoming Wednesdays
A weekly release of learning resources that focus on fostering inclusive learning.
Knowre Math is an online core supplement for grades 1-12 that was designed to be used in classrooms to help teachers with increasing responsibilities and numbers of students.
With school closures occurring around the US due to the novel coronavirus, Knowre is offering Knowre Math for free to all teachers, schools, and districts in the US who need additional support addressing the needs of their students and with distance learning during school hiatuses for the rest of the year.
Long Live Math at Home
A free resource from Carnegie Learning with 1:1 math learning software and virtual support for grades 6-12.
iCulture for at home Language Learning
Resource for online language learning. Requires an account, but it is free for the rest of the academic year.