Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Open Access Resources
Early Americas Digital Archive
From the University of Maryland, this digital archive contains electronic texts and links to texts of American works from 1492 to approximately 1820.
Just Teach One
Recovered and digitized early American texts.
Cornell University Making of America Collection
Digital collection of primary source materials, including book and periodical texts and images, on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Commonplace: The Journal of Early American Life
Sponsored by the American Antiquarian Society, this online journal focuses on American history and culture before 1900.
University of Michigan Making of America Collection
A digital library of primary sources in American social history.
Library of Congress
Digital collections include prints, photographs, texts, cartoons, sheet music, and more.
Covers, Titles, and Tables
This project from the University of Texas, Arlington, shows covers and tables of contents for anthologies of American literature compiled from 1829 to 2017. Older (pre-1900) anthologies and recent non-Norton or -Heath anthologies might be particularly rich sources for currently non-canonical works.
Digital library of primary books, documents, and other materials, many public domain.
Public domain materials can be found in a full-text format (both primary and secondary sources).
Library of more than 60,000 free ebooks, with a focus on older U.S. books published before 1923 and therefore out of copyright.