Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for literary reference sources and articles
MLA International Bibliography
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Scholarly articles about literature, including literary criticism, drama, and film.
Literary Reference Center
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Articles and reference sources about literature.
Literature Online (LION)
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.Biographies and articles about literature, including an extensive Author Index.
Also a good source for African-American Poetry (1760-1900), American Poetry (1600-1997), and English Poetry (600-1900) full-text primary materials.
Other databases for scholarly articles
Full-text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
ProQuest Research Library
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Articles on all topics, some peer-reviewed.
Journals in Early American Literature
You can browse these journals or search within the publications for more information on titles and authors of literary works.
Dissertations & Theses
Doctoral dissertations and Masters' theses may also be useful documents to consult as you search for sources. Doctoral dissertations, in particular, will usually contain a full literature review and extensive bibliography. You can search for dissertations and theses using the following databases:
Placing search terms in quotation marks and including the word "dissertation" can be a very effective strategy for using openDOAR's Custom Search function.