GIL-Find@VSU
Search GIL-Find@VSU to find materials available in Odum Library
GIL-Find@VSU is the library's online catalog. This catalog is made up of descriptive records of all the materials available at Odum Library. These materials include books, videos, musical scores, government documents, print journals, and other items. Each GIL-Find record represents one item and provides detailed information about the record, such as the author, title, subject headings, and the call number for the item. GIL-Find is available online and no password is needed to search Odum Library’s catalog.
Subject Headings for Early American Literature, History, and Criticism
- America -- Early accounts to 1600 -- History and criticism
- America -- Discovery and exploration -- Sources
- Indians -- First contact with Europeans
- American literature -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
- American literature -- Indian authors -- History and criticism
- American literature -- African American authors
WorldCat
Reference Books
These bibliographies of and guides to American literature are located in the library's reference collection (2nd floor) and can be useful for suggesting pre-1865 authors and works.
American Authors, 1600-1900 by Call Number: REF PS21 .K8ISBN: 9780824200015Publication Date: 1977-01-01
Bibliography of American Literature by Call Number: REF PS88 .B43 1955Publication Date: 1955This nine-volume work, alphabetically arranged by author, lists works by a wide range of American authors,1600-1900.
The Oxford Companion to American Literature by Call Number: PS21 .H3 1995ISBN: 9780195065480Publication Date: 1995-10-12This 6th edition and earlier editions of this Oxford Companion provide information on the biography and works of American writers, including pre-1865 authors.
Open Access resources
These resources contain full-text materials in the public domain. This can be very useful if you want to find an eBook of a work published prior to 1923.
- Archive.orgPublic domain materials can be found in a full-text format (both primary and secondary sources).
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryDigital library of primary books, documents, and other materials, many public domain.
- Project GutenburgFree electronic books.
- Google BooksWhen using Google Books you can limit your search to "free Google eBooks" in order to locate the full-text of pre-1923 publications.
Placing an ILL Request
If you find a book or article that you need for your research, but the library does not have it, you can request it using ILL. Books are physical and will be mailed to the library (ebooks cannot be requested). Articles are typically scanned and delivered as online PDFs.
How to Request a Book or Article Using ILL
1. Go to the library home page.
2. Click on ILL-Odum Express.
3. Log into ILLiad using your BlazeVIEW username and password. ILLiad is the system we use to process ILL requests.
- The first time you log into ILLiad you must fill in the registration form. Once this form is filled in you will see the main menu for ILLiad and can request materials. In the future you will go directly to the main menu when you log in.
4. Click on the appropriate link under Make a Request.
- For example, click on Get an Article to request an article.
5. Fill in the form and click Submit Request.
Picking Up the Requested Material
- You will receive an email once the book or article is available.
- Students can pick up books at the main circulation desk.
- Faculty can have books delivered to their department on North Campus only. Please email ill@valdosta.edu to request faculty book delivery to North Campus.
- Articles are usually online. Log into ILLiad and click on PDFs Available for Download. Be sure to save the PDF! PDFs are removed from the server after 30 days.
