Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources Guide: Open Texbooks@VSU

Open Textbooks Adopted by VSU faculty

 

Course# Course Title Authors Semester Piloted (Grant Round #) Type of Material/Link
BIOL 1010 Evolution and Biodiversity Timothy Henkel, Emily Croteau, Matthew Waters Fall 2014 (1) https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/biology-collections/6/
BIOL 1010 Evolution and Diversity of Life Timothy Henkel, Emily Croteau, Matthew Waters Spring 2015 (4) OpenStax College Concept Coach
BIOL 1030 Organismal Biology Timothy Henkel, Emily Croteau, Matthew Waters Fall 2014 (1) https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/biology-collections/8/
BIOL 1030 Organismal Biology Timothy Henkel, Emily Crotean, Matthew Waters Spring 2015 (4) OpenStax College Concept Coach
BIOL 1107 Principles of Biology I Joshua Reece, John Elder, Emily Cantonwine, Mark BlackmoreBlackmore Fall 2015 (2) https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/biology-collections/7/
BIOL 1108 Principles of Biology II Joshua Reece, Theresa Grove, John Elder, Gretchen Bielmyer Fall 2016 (4) https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/biology-collections/9/
ECED 4500 Mathematics and Technology in Early Childhood Education Anthony Scheffler, Shirley Andrews, Nancy Sartin Spring 2015 (1) https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/education-textbooks/2/
ECON  2106 Principles of Microeconomics

Levent Bulut

Fall 2018 (12) https://www.affordablelearninggeorgia.org/documents/M41_VSU_Bulut.pdf
GEOG 1102  World Regional Geography

Jia Lu                Jessica Taylor

Fall 2018 (12) https://www.affordablelearninggeorgia.org/documents/394_VSU_Lu.pdf
GEOG 1112 Introduction to Weather and Climate
Jason Allard    Weimin Fang
Fall 2017 (7) https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/geo-collections/2/
GEOG 1125 Resources, Society and Environment Jia Lu
Jessica Taylor
Fall 2017 (9) https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/geo-collections/4/
MATH 2261 Analytic Geometry & Calculus I Shaun Alat, Sudhit Goel Fall 2015 (2)

https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/mathematics-collections/6/

MAA Homework System

PHIL 2020 Principles of Logic and Argumentation Christine James, Michael Holt Spring 2015 (1)

Library Course Guide/D2L or

 

https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/philosophy-ancillary/1/

PHYS 1111 & 1112 Introductory Physics I & II Dereth J. Drake,  Shantanu Chakraborty, Michael Holt   Spring 2016 (4)

https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/physics-collections/2/

 

Library Course Guide/D2L

PHYS 2211 Principles of Physics I Francis Flaherty             Dereth Drake        Michael Holt Fall 2017 (6) https://oer.galileo.usg.edu/physics-collections/6/

Information about the Affordable Learning Georgia Textbook Transformation Grant Rounds may be found at http://www.affordablelearninggeorgia.org/about/textbook_transformation_grants

OpenStax College Instructions

Create a faculty account at OpenStax.

 

OpenStax CNX is the platform used to host the OpenStax College textbooks you choose to create, adopt or remix.

 

Use OpenStax Concept Coach to have technology embedding into your OpenStax textbooks.

Library Course Guide/D2L Instructions

Odum Library Reference Librarians use LibGuides software to create course, subject and topics research guides which can be linked into BlazeVIEW, VSU's branded D2L. To have a course, subject or topic guide created, please contact Samantha Paul in the Reference Department at 229-245-3744.

American Institute of Mathematics (AIM)

Go to the AIM Open Textbook Initiative to review the list of approved open textbooks, the evaluation criteria, and guide to authors.