Open Educational Resources Guide: Open Textbook Providers

GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials. This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation. Most works hosted in GALILEO Open Learning Materials have a Creative Commons license, allowing the reuse, redistribution, remix, and revision of these materials.

Search for quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats; the first step in adopting open educational resources. Search by subject and download them to your computer. The BCcampus Open Education Self-Publishing Guide is an excellent resource to help you plan, prepare, write, and publish an open textbook.

"The Community College Open Textbooks Collaborative is funded by The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. This collection of sixteen educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges."

LibreTexts provides access to more than 2,000 open educational resources (OER) created by instructional faculty and helps reduce the burden of costly textbooks.

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. MERLOT's collection has over 900 Open Textbooks, and it allows you to search for textbooks by subject, whereas many other sites just provide list of books, which can get unwieldy.

Psychology open textbooks. Create an account to select or build an open textbook. Expertly compiled from Noba modules to fit the scope and sequence of common courses. Use them as-is or customize them to fit your needs. Instructor manual, PowerPoint presentations, and test bank available for many modules.

"OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Explore open education resources and join our network of educators dedicated to curriculum improvement."

Find a meta list of 200 Free Textbooks by subject and check back often for new additions. Also see our online collection, 1,700 Free Online Courses from Top Universities.

"OpenStax offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers." OpenStax is an initiative of Rice University. OpenStax CNX is their authoring platform.

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Now offering 1261 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network. All textbooks in the Open Textbook Library must meet the following criteria: (1) Openly licensed by either GNU or Creative Commons (2) Complete Textbook available as a portable file (3) Must be in use at multiple higher education institutions, or affiliated with an higher education institution, scholarly society, or professional organization (4) Must be an original textbook (not a derivative of another textbook)

Pressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,490 open access books published by 153 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.