LibGuides: Modern and Classical Languages: Find Sources

Search in Discover

Discover allows you to search across multiple databases at once. Use Discover to find articles, eBooks, videos, and physical items.

Find Sources by Type

Where do I find scholarly articles about Modern and Classical Languages?

Literary Reference Center Plus
Articles and reference sources about literature, including thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full-text literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Literature Online (LION)
Biographies and articles about literature, including an extensive Author Index.
Also a good source for African-American Poetry (1760-1900), American Poetry (1600-1997), and English Poetry (600-1900) full-text primary materials.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles about literature, including language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Fuente Academica Premier
Spanish-language scholarly journals in a number of fields, including literature.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Ethnic Diversity Source
Culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database including resources from thousands of journals, magazines, and videos.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
ProQuest Research Library
Articles on all topics, some peer-reviewed.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
AVON (Academic Video Online)
AVON scholarly video material including: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles.
JSTOR
Full-text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
Linguistics Database
full-text journals and other sources in linguistics

Where do I find books about Modern and Classical Languages?

Ebook Central
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of researchers.
Gale EBooks
Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Previously known as GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Finding Modern and Classical Language Books In the Library Using Call Numbers
Books on Modern and Classical Language topics can be found in the following sections. (Use the Library Maps to help you find where each section is located. To learn how to read call numbers, see our Using the Library Guide.)

P: Language, Literature, and Linguistics (Located on the 3rd floor)

PA: Greek and Latin Language and Literature

PB: Modern Languages

PC: Romance Languages

PC1001-1977: Italian

PC2001-3761: French

PC4001-4977: Spanish

PE: English Language

PF3001-5999: German Language

PG1-7925: Slavic. Russian Language and Literature

PJ6001-8517: Arabic Language and Literature

PL501-889: Japanese Language and Literature

PQ1-3999: French Literature

PQ4001-5999: Italian Literature

PQ6001-8929: Spanish Literature

PT1-4897: German Literature

Where do I find dissertations and theses about Modern and Classical Languages?

Dissertations and Theses Full Text Global (ProQuest)
Extensive full-text database of dissertations and theses.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.