Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Book Reviews: Using Electronic Databases to Find Book Reviews

JSTOR

 

How to find book reviews in JSTOR

  • Click the JSTOR link above.

  • Click on Advanced Search.

  • Type in the name of the book (in our case Johnstown Flood) and the author (in our case McCullough).  Select Review.  Click on Search.

  • All articles are available full text in JSTOR, so download or print any available reviews.

 

America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts

 

How to find book reviews in America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts:

  • Click the link to the database above.

  • Click Choose Databases .

  • Select Historical Abstracts from the list and then click OK. You are now searching both databases.

  • Click Advanced Search.

  • Enter the book title and author's name.  Then change the Document Type to Book Review and click on Search.

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature & Readers’ Guide Retrospective

 

How to find book reviews in Reader's Guide to periodical Literature & Reader's Guide Retrospective 

  • Click on the link to the database above.

  • Click on Open Database Selection Area.

  • Select Reader’s Guide Retro.  You are now searching both the Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature and Readers’ Guide Retrospective.

  • Type in the name of the book and the author.  Change the Document Type to Book Review.  Click on Start.

        

 

Academic Search Complete

 

How to find book reviews in Academic Search Complete:

  • Click the link to the database above.

  • Click on the Advanced Search tab.

  • Type in the name of the book in quotes, and the last name of the author. 

  • For Document Type, select Book Review.  Click on Search.

 

Research Library

 

How to find book reviews in ProQuest Research Library:

  • Click on the link to the database above.

  • Click on the Advanced tab.

  • Click on More Search Options.

  • For Document type: select Book review.

  • Type in the name of the book and the last name of the author.  Click on Search.