A dictionary defines words, and can be used to verify meaning, spelling, and correct usage of the word. The field of chemistry includes traditional dictionaries that define words and chemical dictionaries, that define compounds. Compounds are listed alphabetically and the dictionary includes data about the compound, and often a diagram of the chemical structure.
Dictionaries are useful when you want to learn facts about a word or compound.
Encylopedias contain a collection of articles on a variety of subjects. There are many subject encyclopedias within the field of chemistry. Subject encylopedias are more focused than general encyclopedias. The articles are substantial, and typically have several (or many) references. Encyclopedia articles are good starting point for your research.
A handbook, such as the CRC Handbook of Cemistry and Physics, collects and organizes a lot of information on a topic into a single book.
An index tells you where to find information on a topic. Most of the reference books described on this page have multiple indexes to assist you in finding information. The Merck Index provides concise factual data as well as acting as a index to find articles about a substance.
Many of the resources listed on this page include citations for related articles and books. These lists are usualy found within the entry (Merck Index and Dictionary of Organic Compounds) or at the end of the article. The list of citations may be called a Bibliography, Cited Publications, References, or Literature References.
Once you have a citation, you can track down the article. The Finding a Journal Article by Citation Video Tutorial on the Welcome page of this guide provides an overview of how to find an article from the citation. If you have any questions about finding a citation please email me or chat with a librarian.
READY REF QD65 .H3
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics collects and organizes a huge amount of physical and chemical data. There are 16 sections and an appendix. Each section focuses on on one area of physical or chemical data and includes an introduction that describes the information included in that section, as well as any abbreviations.
Use the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics when you need to find the physical or chemical data of an element, organic compound, inorganic compound, amino acids, etc.
READY REF RS51 .M4
The Merck Index provides reference data on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Each entry in the Merck index is called a monograph. Each monograph includes information about a substance including the Monograph Number, Title, Chemical Abstracts Registry Number, Molecular formula, Molecular weight, Structure, and much more. For a complete explanation of the organization of the monograph and the information included, see the Explanaory Notes at the front of the Merck Index. Similar to other indexes, the Merck Index tells the reader where to find more information. Each monograph includes Literature references, which provide a history of the substance.
Use the Merck Index to find consice factual data, the Chemical Abstracts Registry Number, and literature references for a chemical, drug or biological substance.
REF TP9 .K54 2004
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a subject encyclopedia that focuses on chemical technology. This encyclopedia provides a thorough coverage and explanation of industrial chemicals and related topics. The articles are detailed but readable and include extensive Cited Publications for further reading.
Use the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology when you need to learn more a topic related to chemical industry or technology. The articles are a good starting point for your research.
REF TP1110 .E53 2003
The Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology is a subject encyclopedia that focuses on polymer science. This encyclopedia provides a thorough coverage and explanation of polymer science and technology, and related topics. The articles are detailed but readable and include extensive Bibliographies for further reading.
Use the Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology when you need to learn more a topic related to polymer science or technology. The articles are a good starting point for your research.
REF QD148 .E53 1994
The Encycleopedia of Inorganic Chemistry covers the breadth of inorganic chemistry. It is written to be accessible to students and nonspecialists. The encyclopedia includes shorter definitions and longer topical articles. The articles include cross-referencing within the volumes, to direct readers to related articles, and many articles include references to journal articles and books for further reading and research.
Use the Encycleopedia of Inorganic Chemistry when you need to learn more about an inorganic chemistry topic.
REF T55.3.H3 L494 2004
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials collects the hazard information of materials found in the workplace. Each entry provides information about the material, including Chemical Abstracts Registry Number if avaialable, toxicity data, and a Safety Profile.
Use Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials when you need to find information about a hazardous (or potentially hazardous) chemical or material.
REF QD4 .C48 2004
Chemistry: Foundations and Applications is a subject encyclopedia that covers a wide range of chemistry related topics. The articles are easy to read, providing basic information on topics, and include bibliographies for further reading. There are shorter articles that define concepts and longer articles that provide more information.
Use the Chemistry: Foundations and Applications encyclopedia when you need to get an overview of a chemistry topic.
REF QD246 .D5 1982
The Dictionary of Organic Compounds provides reference data on organic compounds. Each entry includes information about a compound including the DOC name, Chemical Abstracts Registry Number, Alternative names, Structural formula, Molecular weight, and much more.For a complete explanation of the information in the entry see the Sample Entry in the Introduction of Volume 1.
Use the Dictionary of Organic Compounds to find consice factual data, the Chemical Abstracts Registry Number, and literature references for organic compounds.
REF QD4 .M33 1997
The Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry is a subject encyclopedia that covers a wide range of chemistry related topics. The articles are easy to read, providing basic information on topics and include bibliographies for further reading. There are shorter articles that define concepts and longer articles that provide more information.
Use the Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry when you need to get an overview of a chemistry topic.
REF QD5 .C5 2016
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary is a dictionary that defines chemical and related terms. The definitions tend to be technical, detailed and succinct. The content includes chemicals, processes, phenomena, terminology, trademarked products, abbreviations, and some biographies.
Use Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary to verify the meaning of a word, name, abbreviaton, or term.
REF QD466 .E56 2004
The Encyclopedia of the Elements is a subject encyclopedia that focuses on the elements and their history. The articles provide an interesting historical overview of how elements have been used.
Use the Encyclopedia of the Elements when you want to find information about an element, when and how it was discovered, and how it has been used in the past.
REF QD876 .E53 2004
The Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry is a subject encyclopedia that focuses on the field of supramolecular chemistry and related disciplines. The articles cover a wide variety of topics related to supramolecular chemistry.
Use the Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry when you are ready to learn more about supramolecular chemistry and the chemistry of noncovalent bonds.