Virgil Solis Leaf Folio
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Title: Virgil Solis Folio Leaves
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1540
Description: Folio leaves published in Nuremberg. Woodcut biblical scenes and printed text. Each woodcut surrounded by decorative border. 7 leaves printed on both sides, 8 total woodcuts. Woodcuts: Virgil Solis
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Resources from the Odum Library
-
Narrative Art in the Bible
by
This book offers a systematic and comprehensive review of the fundamental literary aspects of biblical narrative, investigating the characteristics and points of view of the narrator, the shaping of characters, the structure of the plot, time and space, and finally the style. Many examples are provided to clarify the issues discussed as well as to shed fresh light on the narratives.
ISBN: 0567084957Publication Date: 2004-06-21 -
Form and Function in the Late Medieval Bible
by
Thirteenth- and fourteenth-century Latin Bibles survive in hundreds of manuscripts, one of the most popular books of the Middle Ages. Their innovative layout and organization established the norm for Bibles for centuries to come. This volume is the first study of these Bibles as a cohesive group. Multi- and inter-disciplinary analyses in art history, liturgy, exegesis, preaching and manuscript studies, reveal the nature and evolution of layout and addenda. They follow these Bibles as they were used by monks and friars, preachers and merchants. By addressing Latin Bibles alongside their French, Italian and English counterparts, this book challenges the Latin-vernacular dichotomy to show links, as well as discrepancies, between lay and clerical audiences and their books. Contributors include Peter Stallybrass, Diane Reilly, Paul Saenger, Richard Gameson, Chiara Ruzzier, Giovanna Murano, Cornelia Linde, Lucie Doležalová, Laura Light, Eyal Poleg, Sabina Magrini, Sabrina Corbellini, Margriet Hoogvliet, Guy Lobrichon, Elizabeth Solopova, and Matti Peikola.
ISBN: 9004248897Publication Date: 2013-05-13 -
Illuminating the Word in the Early Middle Ages
by
This richly illustrated study addresses the essential first steps in the development of the new phenomenon of the illuminated book, which innovatively introduced colourful large letters and ornamental frames as guides for the reader's access to the text. Tracing their surprising origins within late Roman reading practices, Lawrence Nees shows how these decorative features stand as ancestors to features of printed and electronic books we take for granted today, including font choice, word spacing, punctuation and sentence capitalisation. Two hundred photographs, nearly all in colour, illustrate and document the decisive change in design from ancient to medieval books. Featuring an extended discussion of the importance of race and ethnicity in twentieth-century historiography, this book argues that the first steps in the development of this new style of book were taken on the European continent within classical practices of reading and writing, and not as, usually presented, among the non-Roman 'barbarians'.
ISBN: 9781009193863Publication Date: 2023-10-05
-
HOLY IMAGES ON THE MOVE: RECONSIDERING THE GREAT BIBLE ILLUSTRATIONS (1529-1745)Journal Article by François Dupuigrenet Desroussilles in Bibliothèque d'Humanisme et Renaissance, T. 83, No. 2 (2021), pp. 211-236, 238-247 (36 pages)
-
Some Sixteenth-Century Venetian Bible Woodcuts Inspired by Holbein's "Icones"Erika Michael
Print Quarterly, Vol. 7, No. 3 (SEPTEMBER 1990), pp. 238-247 (10 pages)
References
-
Ethiopian Heritage Fund - The Garima GospelsInformation on the Garima Gospels, some of the earliest illustrated manuscripts of the Christian new testament.
-
Getty Museum Collection - Virgil SolisA summary of the life of Virgil Solis, artist.
-
The British Museum - Bernard SalomonFacts about Bernard Salomon, artist.
-
The British Museum - Jacques SaconFacts about Jacques Sacon, printer.
-
Oxford Reference - Jean de TournesFacts about Jean de Tournes, printer.
-
Rochester Cathedral - The Great Bible: the gospel according to Henry VIIIInformation on "The Great Bible," the first Bible to be permitted to be translated into English instead of Latin by King Henry VIII.
From Tree to Testament: Woodcuts in Early Printed Bibles
Manuscripts of the Christian Gospels contain illustrations from as early as the late 15th century, with some of the earliest examples being the Garima Gospels (“The Garima Gospels”). This tradition of illustrating Christian religious texts would continue into the early printing age with the help of woodcuts.
Woodcuts credited to artists Virgil Solis and Bernard Salomon illustrate pages of the Christian Bible in various examples in the Tatler-Burgess Medieval Manuscript Collection, along with other examples that do not credit the original artist.
The collections include such artifacts as:
- Pages from two Martin Luther Bibles (1557 and 1640 - German)
- A page from The Great Bible (1540 - English, the first Bible printed in English by King Henry VIII)
- Pages of a Latin Vulgate Bible (circa 1520 - Latin) possibly printed by Jacques Sacon
- Folio leaves with images credited to Virgil Solis (circa 1540 - German)
- Pages of bible verses credited to artist Bernard Salomon (circa 1550 - Italian) and publisher Jean de Tournes
- Leaves from the Book of Haggai (1550 - German)
The woodcut aspects of these artifacts all help to illustrate the text and emphasize the primary elements of the religious contents to benefit the reader, or in the case of many individuals in the 16th and 17th centuries, the illiterate observer.
While many of the woodcut prints would later be colored by non-contemporary artists to add further illumination, the intricate designs, ranging from the illustration of specific scenes to floral borders and large decorative letter blocks, are excellent examples of how woodcuts enhance the range of the printed page.
One example, a woodcut on a folio leaf by Virgil Solis depicts the contents of the First Book of Samuel, Chapter 19, illustrating the biblical figures of Saul and David.
The woodcut, depicting scenes from the chapter in one total image, includes King Saul attempting to kill David with a spear, and David later escaping his home through a window. This illustrated summary is flourished with detailed scrollwork, architectural features, and small supplementary illustrations.
Medieval Bibles: Woodcut Illustrations
Leaves from Martin Luther Bible-Micah
Title: Leaves from Martin Luther Bible-Micah
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: 1640
Description: Two leaves from Martin Luther Bible. Woodcut with Non-contemporary hand colored 1. Leaf of Martin Luther Bible with Woodcut of Birth of Christ pp. 195-196. 2. Woodcut illustration with text pp. 77-78
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Manuscripts; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Book of Matthew
Title: Book of Matthew
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: 1680
Description:Martin Luther Bible text leaf with non-contemporary color. Woodcut illustration of John the Baptist and Jesus.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Manuscripts; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Leaf from Martin Luther Bible-Judges
Title: Leaf from Martin Luther Bible-Judges
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: 1557
Description: Martin Luther Bible: Text with Woodcut illustratrion non-contemporary hand coloring. Story of Jephthah, pp.118-119.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Manuscripts; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Leaves from Martin Luther Bible-Micah
Title: Leaves from Martin Luther Bible-Micah
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: 1640
Description: Two leaves from Martin Luther Bible. Woodcut with Non-contemporary hand colored 1. Leaf of Martin Luther Bible with Woodcut of Birth of Christ pp. 195-196. 2. Woodcut illustration with text pp. 77-78
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Manuscripts; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Bible leaf
Title: Bible leaf
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: 1550
Description: Old German bible leaf from Haggai with illustrations.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Manuscripts; Antiques; Bible -- German;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Leaf from from Latin Vulgate Bible
Title: Leaf from from Latin Vulgate Bible
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1520
Description: Leaf from a later edition of the Vulgate Bible. Printed movable type with non-contemporary illumination. Decorative wood cuts are non-contemporary hand colored.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Prints; Bible; Rubrication;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Leaf from from Latin Vulgate Bible
Title: Leaf from from Latin Vulgate Bible
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1520
Description: Leaf from a later edition of the Vulgate Bible. Printed movable type with non-contemporary illumination. Decorative wood cuts are non-contemporary hand colored.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Prints; Bible; Rubrication;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Leaf from the Great Bible; First Chronicles
Title: Leaf from the Great Bible; First Chronicles
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: 1540
Description: Leaf from the Great Bible; First Chronicles. embellished with two engraved letters. Wood cut. Framed. Printed in London. Water damage to upper and lower edges. 15" x 10".
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Prints;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Bible verses with Bernard Salomon Woodcuts.
Title: Bible verses with Bernard Salomon Woodcuts.
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1550
Description: Two leaves of Bible Verses with wood cut illustrations: 1. Luke 2: Presentation of Jesus in the temple. 2. Matthew 1: Escape to Egypt. Woodcuts: Bernard Salomon. Printer: Jean de Tournes of Lyon.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Bible verses with Bernard Salomon Woodcuts
Title: Bible verses with Bernard Salomon Woodcuts.
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1550
Description: Two leaves of Bible Verses with wood cut illustrations: 1. Luke 2: Presentation of Jesus in the temple. 2. Matthew 1: Escape to Egypt. Woodcuts: Bernard Salomon. Printer: Jean de Tournes of Lyon.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Destruction of Sodom
Title: Destruction of Sodom
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: 1557
Description: Wood cut, non-contemporary hand colored Bible leaf from a M. Luther Bible in German. Text with illustrated letters. Bad condition, water damage and worm holes. Folio with 5 1/2" x 4 3/4" image.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Leaf from Latin Vulgate Bible-Genesis
Title: Leaf from Latin Vulgate Bible-Genesis
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1520
Description: Leaf from a later edition of the Vulgate Bible. Print movable type with non-contemporary illumination. Decorative woodcuts are hand colored non-contemporary. Possibly printed by Jacques Sacon.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Prints; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
Leaf from Latin Vulgate Bible-Genesis
Title: Leaf from Latin Vulgate Bible-Genesis
Creator: Valdosta State University
Date: c1520
Description: Leaf from a later edition of the Vulgate Bible. Print movable type with non-contemporary illumination. Decorative woodcuts are hand colored non-contemporary. Possibly printed by Jacques Sacon.
Source: Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections. Tatler-Burgess Collection.
Subject: Wood-engraving; Antiques; Prints; Bible;
Identifier:
Format: image/jpeg
The Woodcut Artists of Medieval Scripture
Virgil Solis (1514-1562)
A prolific printmaker and book illustrator based in Nuremberg in modern-day Germany, Virgil Solis was a popular and commercial printer whose biblical illustrations were published in eleven editions of the bible from 1562 to 1606. Known for woodcuts containing decorative elements, such as jewelry, architecture, animals, and vegetables, his prints were often used by other artisans as models for their work. While later prints under his signature were made by uncredited artists in his workshop, his woodblocks and plates would be reused well into the 1650s in various works.
Bernard Salomon “Le Petit Bernard” (1506/10- circa 1561)
A French painter, draughtsman, and wood-engraver active in Lyon, France, who is credited with working with publisher Jean de Tournes.
Jacques Sacon (1498-1530)
Typographer, book and print publisher active in Lyon, France from 1498 to 1530. Born in Romano Canavese, Italy, circa 1472, he is also known as Sacco, Saccon, Sachonus, Zachonus, Zacconi, Zachone, Zachoni of Romano, Zacchoni, and Zachon. A set of ornamental capital letters from 1519 is attributed to him.
Jean de Tournes (1504-1564)
A French printer from Noyon in modern-day France, Jean de Tournes’s print workshop was established in Lyon, France, circa 1540. He is credited with printing highly regarded copies of the works of Italian Renaissance writer Petrarch in 1550 and the ancient Roman architect Vitruvius in 1552.
