Curtis's Botanical Magazine
First published in 1787, Curtis's Botanical Magazine is the world's longest running botanical periodical.
1790 - 1920 available online through botanicus.org.
1999 - present is available through Odum.
* Spotlight Source *
Includes more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources.
Access freely online @ jstor.org or through VSU for increased content.
Books & Articles
The Art of Botanical and Bird Illustration by ISBN: 9781633223783Publication Date: 2017-11-01Draw and paint beautiful, vibrant, and realistic birds and botanicals. This one-stop guide will teach you to take a simple sketch and transform it into fine art.
Florapedia by ISBN: 0691217548Publication Date: 2021-04-06A delightful illustrated treasury of botanical facts and fancy, Florapedia is an eclectic A-Z compendium of botanical lore.
Botanical Entanglements by ISBN: 9780813946955Publication Date: 2022-08-18By taking advantage of the intersections between domesticity, femininity, and nature, the writers and artists studied here laid claim to a specific authority on naturalist subjects, ranging from botany to entomology to natural history more broadly.
Just Draw Botanicals by ISBN: 0711251339Publication Date: 2020-01-28Whether you are an artist looking for fresh ideas for creating botanical art or simply enjoy looking at nature-inspired images, this portable volume is a rich resource.
Plants Have So Much to Give Us, All We Have to Do Is Ask by ISBN: 1452944709Publication Date: 2015-06-22Sharing the traditional stories she learned at Keewaydinoquay's side as well as stories from other American Indian traditions and her own experiences, Geniusz brings the plants to life with narratives that explain their uses, meaning, and history.
Madge, Bruce. “Elizabeth Blackwell—the Forgotten Herbalist?” Health Information & Libraries Journal, vol. 18, no. 3, Sept. 2001, pp. 144–52. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1046/j.1471-1842.2001.00330.x.
Henderson, P. L. “Drawing Power from Plants.” Resurgence & Ecologist, no. 333, July 2022, pp. 46–49. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=eih&AN=157577371&site=eds-live&scope=site.
Harrington, Janice N. “Ode to Black Botanical Illustrators.” Callaloo, vol. 37, no. 4, Jan. 2014, p. 866. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=edsjsr&AN=edsjsr.24265050&site=eds-live&scope=site.
Thompson, Brian R. “Women Botanists and Botanical Artists.” Washington Park Arboretum Bulletin, vol. 85, no. 4, Winter 2024, pp. 26–29. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=f6h&AN=175564510&site=eds-live&scope=site.
Nordling, Linda. “Seeding an Anti-Racist Culture at Scotland’s Botanical Gardens.” Nature: International Weekly Journal of Science, vol. 611, no. 7937, Nov. 2022, pp. 835–38. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-022-03797-z.
Websites
American Society of Botanical Artists
Provides information on the contemporary botanical art, including exhibitions, education, outreach, and a gallery of members' work.
Includes resources for urban gardening, educational activities for all ages, lots of photos, and a searchable database of the more than 12,000 plants grown on the BBG's 52 acres.
Orchids: Hidden Stories of Groundbreaking Women
A 2022 exhibition from Smithsonian Gardens highlighting the work of female orchid artists, scientists, and collectors in history and present day.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Access NYPL's collection of over 4,000 botanical prints and illustrations, including many works by the artists represented in the Tatler-Burgess collection.
Plants & Printing 1485-1925: Botanical illustration Through History
A visual timeline of botanical illustration from Ohio University Libraries.
Part of the Atlanta History Center, the Cherokee Garden Library houses over 35,000 books, manuscripts, photographs, and artwork related to the horticulture and botanical history of the southeast.
