Skip to Main Content

About
- Virtual Tour & Maps
  
  Take a sneak peek and plan your trip to our beautiful campus! Our virtual tour is mobile-friendly and offers GPS directions to all campus locations. See you soon!
Admissions
- How to Become a Blazer
  
  Blazers are one of a kind. They find hands-on opportunities to succeed in research, leadership, and excellence as early as freshman year. Think you have what it takes? Click here to get started.
Academics
- Majors & Degrees A-Z
  
  You have what it takes to change the world, and your degree from VSU will get you there. Click here to compare more than 100 degrees, minors, endorsements & certificates.
Campus Life
- Student Life
  
  Make the most of your V-State Experience by swimming with manatees, joining Greek life, catching a movie on the lawn, and more! Click here to meet all of our 200+ student organizations and activities.
Athletics
- Blazer Athletics
  
  Winners of 7 national championships, VSU student athletes excel on the field and in the classroom. Discover the latest and breaking news for #BlazerNation, as well as schedules, rosters, and ticket purchases.
Alumni
- Make Your Gift Today
  
  At Valdosta State University, every gift counts. Your support enables scholarships, athletic excellence, facility upgrades, faculty improvements, and more. Plan your gift today!

Social Work Research for Graduate Students: Law Cases and Amicus Briefs

Primary Legal Sources: Cases

Westlaw Campus Research
A legal research database that provides an array of interconnected primary and analytical law content to help students get a more complete understanding of the issue they are studying. Primary law includes access to federal and state caselaw, statutes, and regulations.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.

Google Scholar Case Law Search
Under the Google Scholar search box, change the selection from Articles to Case law in order to search for legal cases on your topic.
FindLaw for Legal Professionals
JUSTIA (Supreme Court decisions by year)
Supreme Court Sliplists since 2009
FindLaw: Supreme Court cases
Legal Information Institute
Find selected Supreme Court and lower court decisions, the U.S. Code, and other federal and state legal materials.
International Court of Justice
European Court of Human Rights
British and Irish Legal Institute

Secondary Legal Sources

The resources below contain secondary legal sources, notably Law Review (journal) articles:

Legal Source
Articles centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.

Westlaw Campus Research
A legal research database that provides an array of interconnected primary and analytical law content to help students get a more complete understanding of the issue they are studying. Primary law includes access to federal and state caselaw, statutes, and regulations.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.

Amicus Briefs

Public Health Law Center Amicus Briefs
Definition of Amicus Brief plus examples that focus on public health issues such as tobacco use and diet.
NASW Amicus Brief Database
Database of amicus briefs on social work-related issues . Requires log-in with National Association of Social Workers membership.
APA Amicus Briefs
Amicus Briefs from the American Psychological Association.