Databases
Select one of the scholarly databases listed below to search for information on your topic.
If you are currently off campus you will need log in with your MyVSU credentials to access the database.
- Art and Architecture CompleteArticles on art, art history, architecture, landscape architecture and related fields.
- JSTORFull-text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
- New York Times Historical Full TextThis database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times dating back to its first issue in 1851. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF® files. Coverage ends in 2003.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersHistorical newspaper database (1800's -) from multiple different papers.
Search strategies
Finding Reviews
Databases contain different types of resources, from scholarly articles and books to reviews. There are a few ways you can narrow down your search results and find reviews for this class.
Keywords
Within a newspaper database, you could try adding on keywords to your search to limit the results. For example, adding "exhibition review" in quotation marks as a keyword will find results that have "exhibition review" in the title, subject, abstract, or the main text.
Document Type
You could also try narrowing the articles by document type. This will filter out most articles and other sources that are not listed as reviews. You can do this in ProQuest databases by selecting Review under "Document Type" in the limiters section on the left.
Not finding results?
Some databases only have articles and reviews from a certain time period. For example, the New York Times Historical Full Text database has articles from 1851-2003. If you are looking for something that happened before or after this date, you may not find any information in this particular database.
To find the coverage dates of the database you are searching, you can search for the database in VSU's Database A-Z page.
- Database A-ZList of databases offered by GALILEO and VSU for VSU students, faculty, and staff.
Search for the database that you want to use in the search bar at the top. Click the "More info" button under the title of the database and look for the area.
This means the articles that you are searching for in this particular database will only be from these years.
