LibGuides: COMM 3021: Statistics and more

Overview: How to use statistics sources

This page provides a list of many popular sources for statistical information. Statistics are extremely helpful data points for research in all fields, and Communication Arts is no different.

These sources can be used a few ways, and each source has its own interface. Do not hesitate to ask a reference librarian for assistance with searching, interpreting, or citing the information you find!

Live Chat

chat loading...

Statistics and Government Resources

American Time Use Survey
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics: This survey "measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Historical Statistical Abstracts
Browse annual Statistical Abstract of the United States from 1878 to 2012.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.

USA.gov
Search government web sites, including federal, state, and some local, and organizes links to various government services and information. Described as "the U.S. Government's official web portal."

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
Data.census.gov
Find population, housing, economic, and other data about the United States and its territories, based on censuses and surveys conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau.

More Statistics

Statistics Sources
by Emily Rogers Last Updated Feb 2, 2023 141 views this year

News and More

Newspaper Source Plus
Database of newspaper articles from 35 national and international newspapers as well as 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
New York Times Historical Full Text
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times dating back to its first issue in 1851. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF® files. Coverage ends in 2003.

Selected Associations and Nonprofit Websites

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center conducts public polling and research on many current topics in the news.