Zotero

Organizing Your Library

• Collections:

  • Create collections to organize items. Right-click on "My Library" and select "New Collection". Give it a name and drag items into this collection for better organization.

• Tags:

  • Use tags to manage items effectively. When editing an item, look for the “Tags” tab and add relevant keywords. Tags can be used to filter items in your library.

• Searching:

  • Use the search bar at the top of the Zotero window to quickly find items by title, author, or keyword.

Creating a Bibliography from Collection

Creating a bibliography from a collection in Zotero is a straightforward process. Here’s how to do it step-by-step:

Step 1: Open Zotero

• Launch the Zotero application on your computer.

Step 2: Select the Collection

• In the left sidebar, find the collection you want to create a bibliography from. Click on the collection to display its contents in the main window.

Step 3: Select Items for the Bibliography

• Select All Items: Right click the collection you want to create a bibliography for and select Create Bibliography from Collection

• Select Specific Items: If you only want to include certain items, right click on that specific item from the middle pane and select Create Bibliography from Item

Step 4: Create the Bibliography

• With your items selected, right-click on one of the selected items. A context menu will appear.
• Once you click "Create Bibliography from Collection" or "Create Bibliography from Item" this will open a dialog box.

Step 5: Choose Citation Style

• In the dialog box, you will be prompted to select a citation style for your bibliography (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.). Select your preferred style from the dropdown menu.
• You will also have options for how to output the bibliography:
  • Copy to Clipboard: This will copy the formatted bibliography to your clipboard so you can paste it into your document.
  • Save as RTF: This option allows you to save the bibliography as an RTF file, which can be opened in word processors like Microsoft Word.

  • Print: If you want to print directly, you can choose this option.

Step 6: Paste or Save the Bibliography

• If you selected Copy to Clipboard, go to your word processor or document where you want the bibliography, and paste it (Ctrl + V for Windows or Cmd + V for Mac).
• If you chose Save as RTF, specify the location on your computer to save the file, and give it a suitable name.

Step 7: Finalize Your Document

• Make any necessary formatting adjustments in your word processor to ensure that the bibliography meets your document's requirements.

Editing References

Any Reference you add to your Zotero library is editable.

• Select an item (e.g. title) in the middle panel, and the right panel displays the metadata.
• Select any metadata field (e.g., title, author, publication)
• You can then edit the data in that field to whatever you choose. For instance, if a citation format for a journal article title does not have the correct capitalization for the citation style you are using you can edit the capitalization in this field. 

Please Note: Zotero will not automatically change capitalization for titles to fit the citation style you are using so you must do this before creating your bibliography.

Citing References with Zotero Word Plugin

• Inserting Citations:

  • If you’re using Microsoft Word, after installing the Zotero Word plugin:
    • Open your document and click on the "Zotero" tab in the toolbar.
    • Select "Add/Edit Citation", and search for the reference you want to cite. Zotero will insert the citation at your cursor's position. This option for making in-text citations in your document which later will be used to create your bibliography.
    • The first time you import a citation in to Word, it will ask you to setup your document preferences. Select your preferred citation style then click OK.

• Generating Bibliographies:

  • Creating a bibliography using the Zotero Word plugin is easy. Once you've inserted an in-text citation in your paper, Zotero will keep a running tally of the resources you've used. You can insert the bibliography at any time. 
  • If you add more in-text citations, Zotero will automatically update your bibliography.
  • Place your cursor where you want the bibliography to appear, then click "Add/Edit Bibliography" in the Zotero toolbar in Word.

Syncing and Backing Up

• Syncing:

  • Go to Edit > Preferences > Sync and enter your Zotero account information to enable syncing. This will save a copy of your library online and allow access across devices.

• Backing Up:

  • Regularly back up your Zotero library to avoid data loss. The Zotero data folder typically contains all your references and can be backed up manually (found in the preferences menu under "Advanced").

Sharing Your Library

• Group Libraries:

  • Create a group library by visiting the Zotero website, logging into your account, and selecting "Groups". Click "Create a New Group", name it, and set the privacy settings.

• Inviting Members:

  • Add collaborators by inviting them via their email addresses. They will need Zotero accounts to join.

Taking Notes

• Use the “Notes” feature in Zotero:
  • Click on a reference, and then click the "Notes" tab in the right pane. Here you can add summaries, thoughts, or highlight specific excerpts.

Advanced Features

• Searching through PDFs: If you add PDF files, Zotero can index and make the contents searchable.
• Cite While You Write: Integration with Google Docs allows similar citation capabilities directly in your documents online.
• Zotero’s API: For advanced users, Zotero provides an API that allows developers to create custom applications or tools integrating with Zotero.