LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies: Find Sources

Search in Discover

Discover allows you to search across multiple databases at once. Use Discover to find articles, eBooks, videos, and physical items.

Find Sources by Type

Where do I find scholarly articles about Women's and Gender Studies?

ProQuest Social Science Journals
Scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the social sciences including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, psychology, and mental health.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly full-text articles in multiple subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence, and many others.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Sociology Database
Articles in the sociology and social services fields.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Abstracts and full text articles related to violence and abuse. Includes family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other related topics.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database including resources from thousands of journals, magazines, and videos.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.

Where do I find books about Women's and Gender Studies topics?

Ebook Central
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of researchers.
Gale EBooks
Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Previously known as GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Finding Books about Women's and Gender Studies In the Library Using Call Numbers
Books on Women and Gender Studies can be found in the following sections. (Use the Library Maps to help you find where each section is located. To learn how to read call numbers, see our Using the Library Guide.)

HQ - The Family. Marriage. Women. (Located on the third floor)

HQ12-449:Sexual Life and Sexual Orientations

HQ1075-1075.5: Sex Roles

HQ1088-1090.7: Men

HQ1101-2030.7: Women. Feminism.

As an interdisciplinary topic, other areas of the library can also contain books related to Women's and Gender Studies. To search in the catalog for specific topics, visit our Using the Library: Find Books guide.

Where can I find additional information on Women's and Gender Studies related topics?

Statistics

Pew Research Center - Gender
Pew Research Center conducts public polling and research on many current topics in the news. This page contains informatin about gender and sexuality
Statistics Resources
This guide offers links to sources for statistics on a variety of subjects including business, energy, transportation, education, health, and more.

Primary Sources

Breaking Ground, Winning Votes
A LibGuide on the Rights of Women. Looking within the Valdosta State University Archive's collection of the National Woman's Party publication, Equal Rights, we observe the way women like Nellie Taylor Ross, Miriam Ferguson and others trailblazed into politics and made history for women everywhere.
Muses of the National Woman's Party
A Libguide with primary sources on the National Woman's Party - Equal Rights was a newsletter published by the American National Woman’s Party beginning in 1923. This publication lobbied for an Equal Rights Amendment to be added to the Constitution and also covered feminist concerns and developments both nationally and worldwide. A lot of the cover “models” shown on issues of Equal Rights are engaged in politics in some way – officers of the National Woman’s Party, overseas supporters, women with roles in global governments, etc. The exceptions are creative women – writers, musicians, and artists. Why were these particular women chosen for the cover of this publication? Why might the National Woman’s Party have admired them?
Refined Pages: Women's Lives in Print in 1881
A LibGuide that contains primary sources from Demorest Family Magazine in the late 19th Century. -- The exhibit Refined Pages: Women's Lives in Print in 1881 is a look into how the Demorest Family Magazine portrayed women in the late 19th century. Founded by William Jennings Demorest and Ellen Louise Demorest, the publication often had progressive notes for the time in which it was published. In an era when women were typically expected to marry and submit to their husbands, some of the portrayals reflected in this magazine uplift women's empowerment perspectives.