Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hello SPAN 6200 students, this guide has been created to give some suggestions and strategies as far as how to start your research for your course.
This tab or page will focus on some of the specifics regarding researching Medieval Spanish Literature.
General information about finding books, using GIL Express, ILL-Odum Express, and search strategies for databases can be found on the additional pages/tabs.
Searching for Books
Find books at Valdosta State University and other University System of Georgia institutions with GIL-Find (see Find Books tab for more information)
Filtering Book Results
- Select the filter "Full Access Online" to limit your results to e-books and other digital materials.
- You can also experiment with the "Available in the Library" filter.
- If a book sounds interesting, but visiting Odum's campus is not convenient, GIL Express might be a good option! (see GIL Express tab for more information)
GIL-Find Subjects to Explore
You can use keywords to search in GIL-Find. You can combine keywords by using the Boolean Operators (AND/OR)
Alternatively, you can experiment with pasting the very specific subjects below while searching the catalog.
Spain -- Intellectual life -- 711-1516
Spain -- History -- 711-1516
Spain – Civilization – 711-1516
Spain -- History -- Gothic period, 414-711
Spain – Literatures – History and criticism
Potential Databases to Explore
MLA International Bibliography
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Scholarly articles about literature, including literary criticism, drama, and film.
Full-text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
ProQuest Research Library
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Articles on all topics, some peer-reviewed.
Searching for Articles
Filtering Article Results
- Full Text: Select this filter to limit your results to those that Odum Library has immediate access to.
- Leaving this filter unchecked allows you to find more resources. Odum Library has a great Interlibrary Loan department! Visit the ILL-Odum Express tab to learn more about the ILL request process.
- Scholarly (Peer Reviewed): Select this filter to limit your results to those that appear in journals that use the peer review process.
- Not every article published in a peer-reviewed journal goes through the peer review process.
- Common exceptions are Book Reviews, Editorials, and Letter to the Editor.
Suggested Keywords for Databases
See the "Searching Strategies for Databases" tab for more information about how to combine search terms or expand your search results.
Spain AND ("Middle Ages" OR "Golden Age")
"la literatura medieval hispánica"
"la península ibérica"
Make a Research Appointment