This page puts the spotlight on updates to the library's electronic resource collection that might be of interest to VSU faculty, staff, and students.
Electronic Resources
- AVON (Academic Video Online)AVON scholarly video material including: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles.
Academic Video Online (AVON) will be replacing Films On Demand. We’re excited to see updated functionality like the ability to create clips and video interactions where you can embed pedagogical tools like discussion prompts, multiple choice and free form questions and polling throughout the videos.
General/Interdisciplinary
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods
Students can learn about various methodologies. Plus, there's an interactive feature that allows you to select the best statistical test for your data.
- Access World News Research CollectionRegional, national, and international news coverage
- Georgia News SourcesCollection of newspapers and other news sources from throughout Georgia, various coverage dates.
These resources provide access to additional worldwide and local newspaper titles with robust search options.
- De Gruyter University Press LibraryThe De Gruyter University Press Library's Harvard and Hawaii 2024 frontlists include a selection of newly published academic titles.
Discipline Specific
- Education SourceFull-text education journals that covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
A robust education database with the ability to take one citation and search for cited references and citing articles.
- Sage Business CasesA set of internationally-focused Business Cases.
This resource will support classroom discussion and self-study on various business topics and disciplines like marketing, management, and ethics.
- eBook Medical CollectionDatabase comprised of a diverse selection of medical textbooks, reference works, and clinical guides. It provides access to a wide range of authoritative content covering various disciplines within the field of medicine, including anatomy, pharmacology, pathology, surgery, and more.
This database will feature unlimited user access for medical-related ebooks in various topics like nursing or communication disorders. This could be a great fit for certain courses to help keep textbook costs low.
Primary Sources
- Global Plants on JSTORGlobal Plants is a database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
- World Heritage Sites: Africa on JSTORWorld Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.
- Struggles For Freedom: Southern Africa on JSTORStruggles for Freedom: Southern Africa brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
- Black Life in AmericaThis primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Coverage dates from 1783 - present.
