How to Search
Use the tabs in the box below to learn how to efficiently search databases for your topic.
Keywords
Keywords are used to search in databases. Identify 2 or 3 of the most important parts of your research. Try to condense these ideas into keywords, unique terms that will bring up literature relevant to your search.
Sample keywords in Education:
Education, school, or grade level:
Primary school, elementary education, middle school, middle grades, high school, secondary school, K-12
School subjects:
Language Arts, reading, English, Social Sciences, Biology
Topics:
Classroom management, individualized instruction, Intelligent Tutoring Systems, project-based learning
Location:
United States OR County
Tips: Use quotation marks if searching for a title or a keyword that has more than one word! This ensures that the words stay together in a search.
Visiting specific databases like ERIC (EBSCOhost) can allow you to limit to specific grade/school levels without relying on keywords.
Search Strategies
Boolean Operators allow a database search to be narrowed, broadened, or made more precise. The three operators are AND, OR, and NOT.
The table below provides explanations and examples of each operator.
| AND | Combines keywords. Used for narrowing or focusing a search topic. Using this means that both search terms must be present in the results. | “individualized instruction” AND Biology AND “high school” |
| OR | Broadens or expands a search. Using this means that either search term can be present in the results. This is often used to include synonyms or related terms. | (“individualized instruction” OR “differentiated instruction”) AND Biology AND “high school” |
| NOT | Excludes words from a search. This can be used to eliminate false hits or remove a term that you don't want in your results list. | (“individualized instruction” OR “differentiated instruction”) AND Biology AND “high school” NOT “special education” |
Filtering Results
Filters, sometimes called limiters, are used to help you sort through results and find those that you want to see.
Common Limiters include:
1. Full Text - This filter limits the results to items that provide direct access to the complete text.
2. Peer Reviewed - This filter will show articles that have gone through the peer-review process and been reviewed by experts in the field.
3. Publication date - Using this filter allows you to restrict your results to those published within a specific date range.
4. Source Type - Some databases offer more than just articles. This filter enables you to select the type of resource you are interested in, such as journal articles, books, eBooks, newspapers, and more.
Tip: Using the Full Text filter may remove results that may be a good fit for your research. The library often has access to titles in different databases, and you can always request an article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Contact a librarian if you have questions about accessing resources!
Evaluating Your Sources
Ask yourself these important questions when evaluating sources:
🗹 Is the source primary or secondary?
A primary source in Education:
- Reports on original research.
- Usually includes methods/methodology, findings, and results sections.
A secondary source in Education:
- Reports on existing research.
- These are often literature reviews, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses.
🗹 Is the article scholarly or "peer reviewed"?
An article that is "peer-reviewed" (or "refereed") has been evaluated by experts in the field before publication.
🗹 Is the source timely?
This often depends on the assignment and type of research you are doing. Is there a specific technology that you want to focus on? When was that technology first created? Or, would the understanding of the subject change with the passing of certain legislation, state initiatives, or educational policies. It’s important to remember that it can take time for scholars to write about “recent” events.
🗹 Is the source relevant to your topic?
Make sure the source relates to what you are researching.
🗹 Is the source written/produced/published by an authoritative author/publisher?
Does the writer or researcher have knowledge or experience in the field? Is the publisher specialized in a particular subject or focused on a specific audience?
🗹 What is the point of view, purpose, or bias of the source?
Is the source meant to inform you, or persuade you to do something? Is there a clear bias in the writing? Is the author or publisher trying to convince you of something?
Tip: To learn more about evaluating sources and the differences in periodical types, see our guide Evaluating Your Sources.
Save and Share
You can use the tools found in databases to save, share, and help you cite different sources. Use these tools to make finding and sharing research easier.
Tip: Using the citation tool is a great way to start a citation, but it can make mistakes. Always double-check your citations against the style manual. See our Citation Styles Guide for more citation help.
