LibGuides: Anthropology: Find Sources

Search in Discover

Discover allows you to search across multiple databases at once. Use Discover to find articles, eBooks, videos, and physical items.

Find Sources by Type

Where do I find scholarly articles about Anthropology?

EVIA Digital Archive Project Media
"...joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan to establish a digital archive of ethnographic video for use by scholars and instructors."

SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly full-text articles in multiple subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence, and many others.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Sociological Collection
Articles within the sociology field. The database provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
America: History and Life
Articles in the field of American History - including all aspects of US and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the religious studies and philosophy fields. Topics include world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
JSTOR
Full-text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
Linguistics Database
full-text journals and other sources in linguistics

Where do I find books about Anthropology?

Ebook Central
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of researchers.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Contains several eBook collections.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Finding Anthropology Books In the Library Using Call Numbers
Books on Anthropology can be found in the following sections. (Use the Library Maps to help you find where each section is located. To learn how to read call numbers, see our Using the Library Guide.)

GN: Anthropology (located on the 3rd floor of Odum Library)

GN49 - GN298: Physical Anthropology

GN301 - GN 674: Ethnology. Social and Cultural Anthropology

GN700 - GN890: Prehistoric Archaeololgy

GR: Folklore

Where do I find professional organizations in the Anthropology field?

Where can I find other information about Anthropology?

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Full Text Global (ProQuest)
Extensive full-text database of dissertations and theses.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.

Videos

AVON (Academic Video Online)
AVON scholarly video material including: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles.

Research Matrix for help with Anthropology research.

Google Docs Research Matrix
To use, make a copy and save to your own Google Drive