Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THEA 3700 Porterfield: Finding Literary Criticism

Databases Helpful for Finding Literary Criticism

Dictionary of Literary Biography

The 300+ volume series Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) provides biographical and introductory critical information on a wide variety of authors of fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction works. You'll find the DLB in the Reference Alcove area, on the south side of the Odum Library Reference Area in the short shelves, a series of blue volumes published by Gale. 

The Gale Literary Index website lets you look up authors and titles covered in literary criticism volumes published by Gale. Search for the author's name; then in the list of Gale volumes locate the Dictionary of Literary Biography to see which volume(s) cover your author. 

Searching Literary Reference Center and MLA Bibliography

The basic concepts that work in Discover GALILEO will also work in MLA Bibliography and Literary Reference Center.   Since these are smaller, more focused databases, it can be helpful to keep your searches simple. 

 

MLA Bibliography

 

MLA Bibliography is a great source for abstracts and/or citations for the books and articles on your topic. The information from MLA Bibliography can be used to order an article or book through ILL. 

 

Literary Reference Center

 

Literary Reference Center can provide more focused results from any searches that you do. In addition, it offers the ability to limit results by Source Type, which includes Plot Summaries and Literary Criticism.