LibGuides: History: Find Sources

Search in Discover

Discover allows you to search across multiple databases at once. Use Discover to find articles, eBooks, videos, and physical items.

Find Sources by Type

Where do I find books about History?

Gale EBooks
Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Previously known as GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Ebook Central
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of researchers.

Finding History Books In the Library Using Call Numbers
Books on historical topics can be found in the following sections. (Use the Library Maps to help you find where each section is located. To learn how to read call numbers, see our Using the Library Guide.)

D: World History and History of Europe, Asua, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc. (Located on the first floor)

E: History of the Americas - America, United States (Located on the third floor)

F: History of the Americas - US Local History, British America/Canada, Dutch America, French America, Latin America, Spanish America (Located on the third floor)

Where do I find scholarly articles about History?

JSTOR
Full-text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
History Reference Center
A database for biographical and historical information.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
America: History and Life
Articles in the field of American History - including all aspects of US and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Historical Abstracts
Scholarly articles in the history field that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Discover GALILEO Advanced Search
Discover GALILEO Advanced Search gives you the ability to search multiple databases at one time.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database including resources from thousands of journals, magazines, and videos.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.

Where can I find primary sources?

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Historical newspaper database (1800's -) from multiple different papers.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
An index to popular magazines, 1890-1982. Topics include news accounts; biographies; social trends; novels, plays, art, film, television, and music; and popular culture and fashion.
Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive
Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state.
The archive is free and open for public use.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Georgia Historic Books
The Georgia Historic Books database contains full-text, fully searchable books related to Georgia's history and culture. Most are from the 19th to early 20th century and focus on Georgia history, biography, and literature.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Primary Sources for History
More primary sources can be found on our Primary Sources for History Guide.