Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New to Online Learning?
Valdosta State Center for eLearning
University System of Georgia
New to GALILEO?
- If you want to access e-books, journal articles, streaming video, and more from off campus, you’ll need to log in with Anywhere Access
- If you’re not logged in automatically, you just use your VSU username and password
One-Time Privacy Message
- This is completely normal and there is no cause for alarm as EBSCO is the company that provides access to GALILEO.
- You can still access GALILEO regardless of your choice:
- If you choose Yes:
- Choosing to consent allows you to create a personalized account that allows you to save articles and searches.
- Consent also allows for an easier sign-on experience using your VSU credentials.
- If you choose No:
When searching in GALILEO, you can search with Discover GALILEO Advanced Search or you can explore more specific database recommendations under Suggested Databases.
Discover GALILEO Advanced Search
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library, Discover GALILEO Advanced Search gives you the ability to search multiple databases at one time.
The librarians have compiled a list of popular databases that you might want to explore as well: https://libguides.valdosta.edu/electronic
- Instead of searching GALILEO using phrases or your topic sentence, try using the main ideas of your topic to search.
- Combine the main ideas or keywords with special connecting keywords (AND,OR, NOT) to tailor your search results.
- Need to find peer reviewed articles? After you start searching in GALILEO, you can use the options on the left under Limiters to select Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Ask a Librarian
Once you have found an article, you will probably want to read it. To access the article, you will look for symbols like these:
Click on the respective symbol to access the article.
HTML Full Text
As a rule of thumb, avoid HTML Full Text when possible as it will resemble a web page and will not contain page numbers, making citing more difficult.
PDF Full Text
PDF Full Text links you to a PDF copy of the article that you can then e-mail to yourself or download.
Find It @ VSU
If you see the Find It @ VSU button, this indicates that there is an extra step to access the article. The article may be found in another database or resource or it might available through an Interlibrary Loan (ILL).