Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Films On Demand
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, and Health fields.
Reference books are excellent resources for finding facts, ideas, connections, and explanations. Many of these are available on the second floor of Odum Library near the GALILEO lab and the Reference Desk.
African-American Culture and History
Publication Date: 2000-12-06
This four-volume set covers the African-American experience from the 17th century to the present day. Includes first-person accounts, stories, and references to movies and current popular culture. A resource list includes books, movies, magazines and Web sites.
American Masculinities by
Publication Date: 2003-10-14
Explores the wide range of identities and experiences that have defined men and masculinity in the United States from pre-Columbian times to the present. It draws on important contemporary research in history, gender and sexuality studies, and cultural and literary studies. The encyclopedia--in more than 250 articles--analyzes American manhood through historical eras and events; sexuality and the body; cultural icons and symbols; attitudes and behaviors; work and leisure; institutions and organizations; controversial issues and movements; key figures; family and the life cycle; literature, film, theater, and art; theories and concepts; and identities based on race, ethnicity, class, age, and region.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Call Number: REF E185 .E54 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges, and promise of the 150 million people of African descent who live in North America, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. It is an authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas.
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature by
Call Number: REF PS153.N5 E48 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
This invaluable resource includes such authors as James Baldwin, Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Gayl Jones, Ralph Ellison, and Gloria Naylor, and major works such as ""A Raisin in the Sun"", ""Native Son, ""The Color Purple"", and ""Invisible Man"". These entries are enhanced by bibliographies that help readers pursue further research. Additional entries include characters, periodicals, important anthologies, movements, concepts, and other related topics. Spanning the colonial period to the Harlem Renaissance and modernist periods to the ""Black Aesthetics"" movement to the contemporary age, this book provides comprehensive coverage of the history of African-American literature.
This list highlights some of the materials available through Odum Library--they may be on the shelf or available online as eBooks.
African American Life Series by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Ellis investigates black men's representational identifications with and attachments to death, violence, and death-defiance as a way of coping with and negotiating late-twentieth and early twenty-first century culture. Distinct from a sociological study of the material conditions that impact urban black life, "If We Must Die" investigates the many ways that those material conditions and lived experiences profoundly shape black male identity and self-image.
Black Culture and Experience by
Publication Date: 2015-09-30
Part One examines institutional, societal, and political issues like identity politics; the Rooney Rule; prosperity gospel; inequality in the criminal justice system; the American dream; the future of Black and Africana studies; and President Obama's double consciousness. Part Two investigates social, cultural, and community issues such as the Affordable Care Act; Black women and obesity; Black men's experience in marriage and relationships; sexual decision making; interracial relationships; and cultural racism. Part Three explores media, pop culture, and technology issues including the rise of urban fiction; hip hop and feminism; race in Super Bowl commercials; the construction of Black Diasporic identities; Whiteness in Black-oriented films; Black masculinity in Django Unchained; and the power of Black Twitter.
Black Male Frames by
Publication Date: 2015-01-06
Black Male Frames charts the development and shifting popularity of two stereotypes of black masculinity in popular American film: "the shaman" or "the scoundrel." Starting with colonial times, Williams identifies the origins of these roles in an America where black men were forced either to defy or to defer to their white masters. These figures recur in the stories America tells about its black men, from the fictional Jim Crow and Zip Coon to historical figures such as Booker T. Washington and W. E. B. Du Bois. Williams argues that these two extremes persist today in modern Hollywood.
East Meets Black by
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
Examines the making and remaking of race and masculinity through the racialization of Asian and black men, confronting this important white stratagem to secure class and racial privilege, wealth, and status in the post-civil rights era. Chong Chon-Smith argues that Asian and black men are positioned along binaries brain/body, diligent/lazy, nerd/criminal, culture/ genetics, student/convict, and technocrat/athlete--in what he terms "racial magnetism." Via this concept, East Meets Black traces the national conversations that oppose black and Asian masculinities, but also the Afro-Asian counterpoints in literature, film, popular sport, hip-hop music, performance arts, and internet subcultures.
Hoo-Doo Cowboys and Bronze Buckaroos by
Publication Date: 2014-01-08
Hoo-Doo Cowboys and Bronze Buckaroos undertakes an interdisciplinary exploration of the African American West through close readings of texts from a variety of media.The book engages heretofore unexamined writing by Rose Gordon, who wrote for local Montana newspapers rather than for a national audience; memoirs and letters of musicians, performers, and singers (such as W. C. Handy and Taylor Gordon), who lived in or wrote about touring the American West; the novels and films of Oscar Micheaux; black-cast westerns starring Herb Jeffries; largely unappreciated and unexamined episodes from the "golden age of western television" that feature African American actors; film and television westerns that use science fiction settings to imagine a "postracial" or "postsoul" frontier; Percival Everett's fiction addressing contemporary black western experience; and movies as recent as Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained.
Pioneering Cartoonists of Color by
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Syndicated cartoonist and illustrator Tim Jackson offers an unprecedented look at the rich yet largely untold story of African American cartoon artists.. The volume covers the mid-1880s, the early years of the self-proclaimed black press, to 1968, when African American cartoon artists were accepted in the so-called mainstream. Revealed chronologically, these cartoons offer an invaluable perspective on American history of the black community during pivotal moments, including the Great Migration, race riots, the Great Depression, and both World Wars.
Race Men by
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Who are the race men standing for black America? It is a question Hazel Carby rejects, along with its long-standing assumption: that a particular type of black male can represent the race. A searing critique of definitions of black masculinity at work in American culture, Race Men shows how these defining images play out socially, culturally, and politically for black and white society--and how they exclude women altogether.
Masculinity and Popular Television by
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This book is a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the key debates concerning the representation of masculinities in a wide range of popular television genres.