Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select one of the scholarly databases below to find information on Theatre and Dance subjects
Course Guides for VSU Theatre Classes
Click Anywhere Access to access our library resources from off-campus!
Films On Demand
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, and Health fields.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Scholarly, full text articles about topics in the Theatre and Dance fields.
MLA International Bibliography
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Scholarly articles about literature, including literary criticism, drama, and film.
The Blues, Black Vaudeville, and the Silver Screen, 1912-1930s: Selections from the Records of Macon's Douglass Theatre
Selected correspondence, financial records, contracts, and advertising materials from the Douglass Theatre's records in the Middle Georgia Archives' Charles Henry Douglass records, emphasizing the period from 1920 to 1929 and featuring materials on live performers like Ma Rainey and on films of the period.
AVON (Academic Video Online)
AVON includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
ArtSearch & Current Jobs in Art
Index of employment opportunities in theatre and related performing arts. Includes full-time, part-time, seasonal, year-round and internship opportunities, from entry level to upper management. Job listings for Theatres and performing arts centers, Summer festivals, Universities, colleges and schools, Dance companies, Opera companies, Symphony orchestras,
Museums, and Arts councils and other arts organizations. Producer: Theatre Communications Group
Current Jobs in Art
The national employment bulletin for the visual arts professions is a listing of entry-level job vacancies in all visual arts fields, with a focus on applied arts, graphic arts, art education and art history. Publisher: Falls Church, VA : Foster Opportunities, Inc
Academic Search Complete
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.Articles, some peer-reviewed, in all subject fields.
Full-text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Five historical newspapers in PDF full text with earliest coverage from 1851 up to 2005.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Full-text newspaper articles from the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and more, from the 1980s to present.
ProQuest Research Library
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Articles on all topics, some peer-reviewed.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
An index to popular magazines, 1890-1982.
Best of the Web: Dance; The NYPL
More than 200 sites about dance companies, dancers' health, types of dance, international dances, organizations, and publications.
The definitive resource on all aspects of contemporary dance.
Theater Resources on the Internet
Megasite of resources on most aspects of theater, including links to online play sites and journals on drama and all historical eras of drama and related fields such as opera, circus, and puppetry.