Hints!
Using quotations around keywords comprised of multiple words ensures that the database searches it as a term rather than looking for the words separately.
An asterisk (*) at the end of a search word is known as truncation. Truncation tells the database to search for all terms that begin with the phrase before the *. In this case, databases would use "African American*" and search for "African American" and "African Americans.". Databases do not automatically search for plural forms of a word. Another example would be searching teach*. The database would use this to find articles with teach, teaches, teaching, teacher, teachers, etc.
OR is a boolean phrase. This is used to expand your search. While some artifacts in the collection may be described as "African American", others may use the term "Black". If you just search for African American, the items described using Black ( such as the Hear Me Now: The Black Potters of Old Edgefield, South Carolina exhibition featured at the MET) may not appear in your search results. Because of this, you would want to search for ("African American*" OR black).
Another example of a boolean phrase is the word AND. Often, when you use an advanced search, this is already included in the drop-down menu between the keyword search bars. AND tells the database to look for articles that contain both your first search term AND your second. For example, searching for "A Raisin in the Sun" AND reviews would result in articles that only mention A Raisin in the Sun AND reviews in the same article.
Potential Search Terms
Along with the title of your primary source, try adding the following to the next search bar, depending on what you are trying to find:
- Review*
- Critique*
- importance
- influence*
What are Secondary Sources?
Secondary sources are created later than the events or time period that they are written about with the author not experiencing the events. Often, these summarize or examine a historic event after it has already occurred.
Examples:
- A book that is written by a historian describing and analyzing an event
- An article that discusses the importance of a historic piece of literature, music, or theatre.
- A scholarly, peer-reviewed article
Databases
- Discover GALILEO Advanced SearchDiscover GALILEO Advanced Search gives you the ability to search multiple databases at one time.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. - JSTORFull-text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.The goal of the project is to build a "reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature."
- America: History and LifeArticles in the field of American History - including all aspects of US and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. - Race Relations AbstractsArticles that focus on the relationship between races (ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, etc.)
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library - International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full TextScholarly, full text articles for those studying theatre and the performing arts.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. - MLA International BibliographyScholarly articles about literature, including language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.
Finding Journal Articles
When searching for journal articles in VSU’s databases, here are some important strategies to keep in mind.
Use Keywords
- Keywords help focus your search on what you’re looking for.
- Instead of this phrasing: "What are strategies to increase student motivation in Title I schools?”
Try: student motivation AND Title I
Boolean Operators
There are three Boolean operators – AND, OR and NOT.
AND
Helps narrow your search.
Take the example from above: student motivation AND Title I
We tell the search to look for all articles that contain both of these phrases “student motivation” AND “Title I”.
OR
Helps broaden your search. We tell the search that we will accept both possibilities in our search results. Oftentimes, synonyms are linked using OR.
Example: Title I OR Elementary and Secondary Education Act OR ESEA
NOT
Can help make your search more precise. If a result that is different than what you intended keeps dominating your search results, you can use NOT to remove it.
Example: If you were interested in what motivates students in Title I schools in every grade BUT sixth grade, you could search:
student motivation AND (Title I OR Elementary and Secondary Education Act OR ESEA) NOT sixth grade
Limiters
- With each result page, there is a section on the right that gives you options to limit your results. You can select limiters like:
- Full Text
- Peer-reviewed/scholarly*
- A specific journal
- Subject
- Location
- Publication date
*When searching for journal articles, your sources are most likely required to be scholarly/peer reviewed/refereed.
Experiment
- Try entering your search terms in quotations marks or parentheses.
- Quotation marks can help keep your search terms together.
So instead of: student motivation
Try: "student motivation"
- Parentheses can be useful if a keyword has different terms that can be used to refer to it. Putting these terms in parentheses tells the search to look for all of these terms. This strategy can help you get more relevant results.
Example: ("Title I" OR "Elementary and Secondary Education Act" OR ESEA)
Once you have found an article, you will probably want to read it. To access the article, you will look for symbols like these:
Click on the respective symbol to access the article.
HTML Full Text
As a rule of thumb, avoid HTML Full Text when possible as it will resemble a web page and will not contain page numbers, making citing more difficult.
PDF Full Text
PDF Full Text links you to a PDF copy of the article that you can then e-mail to yourself or download.
Find It @ VSU
If you see the Find It @ VSU button, this indicates that there is an extra step to access the article. The article may be found in another database or resource or it might available through an Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Journals by Subject
If you have a citation and you would like to know if the library has access to the article, you can use Journals by Subject to find out.
In the above example, Applied Linguistics is the title of the journal.
You can access Journals by Subject from Odum Library's home page.
1. Click on Journals by Subject.
2. Enter journal title in the Find e-Journal by Title search box and click Search.
Example: Applied Linguistics.
3. Find the corresponding journal title in the search results. Click on Online access.
4. Examine the information in the View Online tab. This shows the access that Odum Library has to the title in question. Some journal titles will be available from multiple sources but have different availability or access depending on the database or publisher.
Example: Applied Linguistics is available from Oxford University Press. Odum Library has access to journal articles between 1/1/1996 to Present.
5. Click on the blue link after Full text availability
6. In the database or on the publisher's website, use additional information from the citation (like author, year, article title, volume, issue, page number) to locate the article.
GIL-Find@VSU
You can also use the journal title to search in the library's catalog for online access or physical copies of the journal. If necessary, you can refine your results by selecting Journals under Format on the left hand side of the page.
If the journal is available in print at Odum Library, you will see the "Available at" and the location of the item in the result list. If the journal is available electronically, you will see Online Access in the result list.
Example: According to the image below, Odum Library only has access to this journal online.
Print Journals
Print journals are located on the first floor of the library. They are arranged alphabetically by title (does not include the, an, a).
Journals by Subject
Allows you to search the library collection for specific journals by title. This is useful if your professor gives you a citation for an article you are supposed to read or if you find an article while searching Google Scholar you can search the library to see if we subscribe to the journal in which the article was printed.
Searching within Journals
If we have access to an journal electronically, you may be able to perform a search within that specific journal. The process may vary depending on if we have access through a database or through the publisher of the journal.
Do you have questions about searching within a specific journal?
We want to help: Contact the Reference Desk.
