Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the resources below to find both individual newspapers we subscribe to and full-text newspapers within the GALILEO databases. If you have any questions, please contact us by using Live Chat, listed below.
Current Newspaper Subscriptions Held by VSU
Atlanta Daily World
African-American newspaper published in Atlanta, GA. Latest 3 months retained . Microfilm holdings run from 1931-1964, also first 3 months of 1968.
Atlanta Journal Constitution, The
Latest three months retained. Older holdings on Proquest Newspaper and Historic Newspaper databases and Lexis-Nexus databases in GALILEO. Microfilm holdings run from 1868-2011.
Christian Science Monitor, The
Current and historical editions available through the Proquest Newspaper and Historical Newspaper databases in GALILEO. Microfilm holdings run from 1983-2011.
French-American newspaper published in French, in New York. Paper copies retained for one year. Link to current issue on library cataloging record.
French newspaper published in Paris. Latest 3 months retained. Issues available online back to 2011 in the Proquest Newspaper database.
New York Times, The
Premier newspaper of New York City. Latest 3 months retained. Older and current issues online in Proquest Newspaper and Historic Newspaper databases and Lexis-Nexus database in GALILEO. Microfilm runs from 1857-2011.
Quitman Free Press
Weekly paper from Quitman, GA. Latest 3 months retained.
Weekly student newspaper of Valdosta State University. Recent issues shelved on 1st floor newspaper shelves; older issues are bound and kept in Archives at SP COL LH1.V25 S7.
The electronic edition is here: http://www.vsuspectator.com/
TLS, the Times Literary Supplement
Book review section published by the London Times. Latest year retained. Microfilm runs from 1902-2009.
Valdosta Daily Times, The
Local daily daily paper for Valdosta, GA Latest issues retained on 1st floor newspaper shelves until microfilm arrives. Microfilm runs from 1905-2013.
The weekly newspaper for people in the theater and motion picture professions. Retain latest 3 months. Older issues available in Proquest Newspaper database and Lexis-Nexus database in GALILEO.
Wall Street Journal, The
The newspaper for people in the financial world or seriously interested in making money. Latest issues retained for 3 months on the newspaper shelves. Current and older issues can be found in ABI/Inform Complete database, Lexis-Nexus, and Proquest Historic database in GALILEO. Microfilm runs from 1959-2011.
Washington Post, The
The premier paper of our nation's capital, Washington, D.C. Latest 3 months retained on our 1st floor newspaper shelves. Current and older issues can be found in Proquest Newspaper and Historic Newspaper databases, and Lexis -Nexus database in GALILEO. Microfilm runs from 1974-2011.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Current edition with No Full Text Delay. Article titles with and without a lock icon are accessible. For older content use a Chronicle search which covers articles from 1990 to the Current edition.
GALILEO Databases which contain Hundreds of U.S and Foreign Newspapers
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Database of newspaper articles.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Full-text newspaper articles from the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and more, from the 1980s to present.