Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for literary reference sources and articles
MLA International Bibliography
The leading database for locating scholarly articles about literature, including literary criticism, drama, and film.
Literary Reference Center
A leading reference source containing biographical and bibliographic information about authors and articles.
Literature Online (LION)
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library.Biographies and articles about literature, including an extensive Author Index.
Also a good source for African-American Poetry (1760-1900), American Poetry (1600-1997), and English Poetry (600-1900) full-text primary materials.
Other databases for scholarly articles
JSTOR contains many relevant journals for literature, with holdings that date back many decades.
ProQuest Research Library
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Articles on all topics, some peer-reviewed.
Dissertations & Theses
Doctoral dissertations and Masters' theses may also be useful documents to consult as you search for sources. Doctoral dissertations, in particular, will usually contain a full literature review and extensive bibliography. You can search for dissertations and theses using the following databases:
Placing search terms in quotation marks and including the word "dissertation" can be a very effective strategy for using openDOAR's Custom Search function.
Is this article peer reviewed?
Use Ulrich's to check!
To determine if your journal uses peer review, search Ulrich's for the title of your journal.
- Results with referee shirt icon are peer reviewed
- Refereed is another word for peer reviewed.
Finding GALE literary titles
Many GALE publications contain biographies of authors and anthologies of critical essays about particular works. Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism is an anthology of critical essays--some in their entirety, some excerpted--about authors and works of nineteenth-century literature.
Use the GALE Literary Index to search for a work within GALE publications.
Use GIL-Find@VSU to find the relevant GALE publication in the Odum Library.
Ask at the Reference Desk (2nd floor, Odum Library) for help in finding and using GALE literary publications.