Last Updated: Jan 28, 2014
- Oxford Music Online (with Grove Music Online)
Oxford Music Online contains the online version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Start your research here to get a detailed, trustable overview of your topic.
- Music Index
Use Music Index to find more in-depth articles about your topic. Since Music Index has many types of publications, be sure to click on a Publication Type, located in Search Options, if necessary.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM has been the standard for scholarly music resources for many years. When you search, be sure to check out "Major Topics" under Search Options, which includes fields like Ethnomusicology and Pedagogy, making a detailed subject search much easier.
While JSTOR is a database for many subjects, its music resources are pretty substantial. Look here for sources primarily about music history and particular composers.
- Music in Print (eMusicQuest)
Music in Print is a very specific database which holds information about music that's currently in print and being sold. Use this database to find out information about arrangements of a piece, instrumentation, anthologies, and more.
- GIL-Find@VSU Library Catalog
GIL-Find is VSU's Library Catalog. Click "Advanced Search" to find helpful search options, including limiting "Format" to "Musical Score," or limiting the "Location" to the "FAMC - Fine Arts Media Collection," which contains scores and recordings.
- Classic GIL Advanced Search
In some cases, Classic GIL may be necessary for your searches instead of GIL-Find. For example, searching for a composer or musical work in the "Author/Uniform Title Browse" will find the authoritative name for which to search for that composer or title.