Skip to main content

MSED 6003 with Dr. Martinez: Introduction

This guide gathers resources useful for Dr. Martinez's MSED 6003 students' research projects.

Anywhere Access

Access library resources from off-campus.


Anywhere Access

 

Live Chat

Have a question? Ask a librarian with Live Chat!


Library Live Chat

 

Chat with a Reference Librarian!

Chat with a Reference Librarian at the Odum Library

 

 

Reference Desk hours:

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 10pm

Friday: 8am - 5pm

Saturday: 11am - 7pm

Sunday: 2pm - 10pm

Link to live chat:

http://www.valdosta.edu/academics/library/general/live-chat.php

Databases, Discover and GALILEO

A database organizes information so that it is easy to search and find relevant information. 

 

Searching a database is more efficient and effective than searching the open web.

 

  • The library subscribes to (pays for) databases that include the full text of articles and books. This means you can find full-text articles in a database that you cannot access through a web search.

 

  • Databases only include selected resources. This means you don't have to wade through advertisements and irrelevant results, like you would see in a web search.

 

  • The articles, books, etc. in a database are organized by several kinds of information. This means that you can do a very specific search and only get back relevant results.

Find a Database Relevant to Your Research Topic

 

By Subject

  • Go to the library's home page, http://www.valdosta.edu/academics/library/welcome.php

 

  • Click on Research Guides

 

  • Click on the Select Subject drop box to see a list of available guides

 

  • Click on the Subject Guide that most closely matches your research topic, or field of study

 

  • Each Subject Guide lists relevant databases. Select a database to begin searching for articles.

 

Unsure which Subject Guide to use? Not sure which database to start with? Ask a librarian! 

 

By Course

 

A great resource that librarians put together for specific classes. Course specific guides can be found on this page. Click on Course Guides to see the complete list.

 

By Topic 

 

Topic Guides can be seen on this page. Click on Topic Guide to see the complete list.

 

Don't see the topic guide you need? Ask a librarian! We can help you find the relevant guide or create a new one. 

 

Discover 

 

Discover searches GALILEO for books, articles, media, and other resources. Discover searches many databases at once.

Searching Discover is a good option if you are just starting your research or your topic is multidisciplinary. 

 

Directions

To search in Discover:

  • Go to the library home page, http://www.valdosta.edu/academics/library/welcome.php

 

  • Type your search terms or keywords into the Discover search box.

 

  • Click on Find.

 

Discover - Advanced Search

 

Directions:

 

  • Go to the library home page, http://www.valdosta.edu/academics/library/welcome.php

 

  • Click on Advanced Search, under the Discover search box.

 

  • Enter your search terms or keywords into the search boxes.
    • Select limiters, if you want to.

 

  • Click on Find.

 

GALILEO 

 

GALILEO is a statewide, online library portal that provides participating schools with access to over 100 databases that contain scholarly journal articles and academic videos. Students, faculty, and staff of Valdosta State University have access to these databases free of charge. Most of the databases within GALILEO provide access to full text scholarly journal articles that would otherwise be unavailable for free. You may search multiple databases within GALILEO at the same time or you may focus your search within one specific database in GALILEO. 

 

Loading