Skip to main content

E-Books: Free (Open-Access) E-books

Free E-book Search Tools

Freely Available E-Book Collections

 

  • Open Library
    A digital library catalog with records for 23+ million books and full-text for over 1 million. Sponsored by the Internet Archive.
  • Internet Archive
    A large digital collection which includes 1.6+ million digitized books/texts.
  • Digital Book Index
    This site provides access to electronic books from many of the most important web e-book collections. The great value in this smaller selective site is that it includes texts from a wide range of digitization projects. Access is free but very brief registration is required.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library
    HathiTrust is a very large scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
  • Humanities Text Initiative from the University of Michigan
  • International Children's Digital Library
  • Librivox (audiobooks)
  • National Academies Press
    Browse and search approx. 4000 online editions of NAP titles on a wide range of topics including education, engineering, energy, health, industry, math, nutrition, security, and more. Note: Not all titles are available free and there is no way to limit your search to only free titles.
  • Project Gutenberg
    A collection of some 36,000+ electronic books in the public domain.

Free Textbooks

About Google Book Search

  1. Google Books   does not know what books are available through Odum Library or the University System of Georgia. 
  2. Google Books offers previews of paid content and access to free e-books (books that are not under copyright).
  3. But often, Google Books will direct you to sites that will ask you to pay for an e-book. 
  4. Look up the book in the library catalog's first, then the catalog for other libraries in the University System of Georgia. Interlibrary Loan is also an option. 
  5. Millions of public domain books (generally pre-1923) are freely available in Google Books.